4runner Sr5 or Jeep Unlimited Wrangler

Status
Not open for further replies.
Say both are brand new. What are the opinions? Both set at around 35K cap budget and both 4x4. Happy Friday

If you want the longest lasting, best built option, pick the Toyota...I've got 25 years of first hand experience with a 4 Runner to support that position....

+1. My first 4runner had 255k miles on it, when I sold it....Still perking along happily. My second one has 248k miles on it........And I do not plan on passing it along.

In that time, it has been through a starter, brakes, plugs and wires, and a pinion bearing in the rear diff.

It has yet to use any oil, and nothing leaks.

You can't be serious? For reliability and long term ownership I'd take the Toyota, every time. I currently own a 4Runner, purchased new in 03. The first time I touched it for anything besides fluids was at 100K for spark plugs, a timing belt and water pump. It runs and drives like brand new and everything works, typical of 4Runners.

Keep in mind they're not really in the same class- the Toyota's more direct competition would be a Grand Cherokee Limited or Laredo, although you can certainly option-out a JGC to a level that would compete more with a Lexus SUV than the 4-Runner.

Go Wrangler if real offroad capability is a must. Not so much if its mostly on-highway with casual offroading. The Wrangler doesn't get the ZF8 automatic yet- if it did it would be the hands-down winner. As it is, the Toyota will probably be the better choice for mostly on-road use. The Wrangler is (by design) a lot less civilized- removable top panels are not as well insulated and tend to get a little rattly over time compared to a permanent top structure. Its still pretty impressive how tight the cabin is, given how much of that structure is removable. And the solid front axle is... well... a solid front axle. Great offroad. Fine on perfect pavement. A handful on washboard pavement.