AirAsia flight missing.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Astro14
Originally Posted By: MalfunctionProne
They found it.

All dead.

Sadly, this is what I would have guessed.

Airplanes that disappear from radar are seldom found intact.

The analysis will be interesting. I suspect weather (more precisely, the failure to avoid it) will be a primary cause.

The A-320 is a good airplane. I've got 5 years of flying experience in it. I've been through some crummy weather in it and it's a well designed, well built machine that performs well in bad weather.

But some weather is simply best avoided. Thunderstorms principal among that group. Going over a thunderstorm is rarely a good idea, the convection extends several thousand feet above the visible moisture, and often the storm itself extends up to 50,000 feet. That's well above the 39,100 foot maximum altitude on an A-320.

Many, many years ago, in an F-14, I tried going over a line of thunderstorms that was between me and NAS Oceana. The tops of the squall line were around 45,000. So, we climbed to 50,000 in afterburner - and it all looked clear.

We were well above the clouds.

Then, as we got directly over one cell, we got the $&@@ kicked out of us. Severe turbulence. Several hundred feet drops followed by upward slams that registered many Gs. It was incredibly rough, just keeping the plane wings level was a challenge. No way I could maintain altitude as the plane slammed up and down and rolled left and right.

They say that good judgement comes from experience.

And experience comes from bad judgement.

I am proof of that.

I will always avoid convective activity. Whether air traffic control gives me permission or not....
glad your here, now that was quite a ride, mercy.

LT4 - read back a few posts. I mentioned an anecdote from my youth.