Acura customer service ARGHHH

Status
Not open for further replies.
MAJORCAVALRY

I almost bought one of these Acuras myself, but opted for a big SUV for my big family's needs. Most modern engines have this issue, but some more than others. What is happening is the oil is being fed through the pcv/vacuum tube and back into the intake. Thus the reasoning that a lot of manufacturer dealers are suggesting a intake cleaning service every 15k miles or so to clean out the oil in the intakes and throttle bodies as well. This oil build up is not good for the intake or the catalytic converters. I would suggest getting yourself a catchcan at catchcans.com I did this on my GMC which had the same issue and problem solved. I am by no means an expert or certified engineer or technician for that matter but do work in the industry and know a good deal about today's modern engines. This was just my $.02. Good luck!

Originally Posted By: Olas
The oil has to get past either the valve guides, the valve stem seals, the piston rings or through the PCV.
Do you notice smoke on a cold start? Or on acceleration or decelerating on overrun?
Stick a finger in the PCV tubing to check for residue.
Have you checked compression? Or done a leak down test?

I do not see any smoke on start up, acceleration or deceleration, but I am in the car. Good idea. I will have my son start it this week end and take a look.

As for the PCV, compression or cylinder leak down test, that is what I thought Acura would have recommended to determine the cause.

Does this engine have variable cylinder management,or whatever Acura calls the ability to shut down 2-3 cylinders when cruising? If I recall correctly, this feature was responsible for increased oil consumption in certain model years. Have you looked at Honda/Acura forums for reports of similar problems and possible solutions?