Bando/Dayco/Gates/ACDelco/OEM/Goodyear belts...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wanting to replace the serpentine belt on the Silverado while I'm off work over the holidays... was met with several possibilities in a 6 rib, 2345mm belt.

The price range (with shipping) starts at $15 for a Bando, to $36 for AC Delco, to $40 for OEM.

Quite honestly, I didn't expect so many choices. Truck is 11 years old, with 85,000 miles... so I'm going to start replacing parts like the belt.

Thanks!

Good idea to replace parts with a lot of age on them. I've always used Gates belts and never had any issues with them. I used to spend the small fortune for Goodyear Gatorback belts but I don't see the need for them anymore.

If available, take a look at the Gates Fleetrunner belt. I have no personal experience with them but supposedly they are Gates' higher-end belts and for some reason the Fleetrunner is actually $4 cheaper than the standard Gates belt for my car on Amazon.

They're all good. Gatorback is really rubbery, the belt equivalent of a racing tire.

I'd carefully check the AC Delco for being "service grade" instead of OE, and not worth $40ish, but certainly worth $15-20.

I just recently put on a dayco belt and it seems to be doing the job. Had a gates on prior for about 70k also without issues. I am going to be going on a long trip and the belt was starting to show signs of wear. Cheap insurance.

Oooh... I can get the ACDelco "Professional" from Amazon (with the 20% discount that they are offering) for $25.40.

If I throw in a can of Turtle Wax Ice wax to the order (which is something that I'll always use), then the shipping is free as well.

There are probably almost no bad choices on that list, unless one of the manufacturers has consolidated part numbers to a point where the belt may be on the edge of being too long/short.