M1 0w-40 is synthetic in Germany again.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
And perhaps the German label laws had a larger effect on Mobil's Euro oil sales than they anticipated. Though I'm just spitballing with that one
grin.gif

Since both Castrol and Mobil have gone to a richer amber color, perhaps for an oil to be taken seriously it needs to look more like German beer than American Budweiser.

Originally Posted By: aa1986
Since both Castrol and Mobil have gone to a richer amber color, perhaps for an oil to be taken seriously it needs to look more like German beer than American Budweiser.

Lol,
No actually I have been using SN version for a 2 years and did oil change in October. This what I poured in on Sunday looks like it changed color. I have no doubts that it meets all what they claim, just saying, or I might had too much of Glenlivet night before
cool.gif

OVERKILL,

Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
My issue with Castrol is twofold:

-The varnish I've seen with the BMW-branded Castrol product
-Their horrendously vague PDS's

I'm sure this 0w-40 is an exceptional product I just can't bring myself to try it, LOL.

In fact, there is the same opinion in Eastern Europe about Castrol: that it makes your engine covered with varnish. These are opinions based on German made Castrol since GC is normally sold in Europe.

I saw many different pictures of engines with varnish blaming Castrol, however I thought that this was probably a result of fake oil use. It is quite common in some countries in Eastern Europe that you buy a bottle of Castrol with some mineral oil inside. Since the oil is so popular, everyone is trying to fake it over there.

Now I see people in North America are saying the same. I wonder, if Castrol is just known for varnish globally?
smile.gif

OVERKILL,

That's from the new MSDS for M1 0w-40 in Germany, dated November 21st, 2014. It shows 50-60% PAO now.
smile.gif