Optimal pressure in closed central heating system

Status
Not open for further replies.
I thought I could ask here. Just did same yearly maintenance on my heating system. System is older with steel pipes and aluminium radiators. I always pressure it to 1.5 bar, but can go to 1.9 bar when hot. Temp range is between 75c to about 90c.

So question is what would really be optimal temp and pressure values?.I understand every system vary from each other but some general values would do also.

Nebroch hi,
Yes I have expansion tank . It's a two story house but system is separated at furnace with two water pumps. Im no expert in this systems so I don't know if this is odd or normal way to build this type of systems.

Edit:
Furnace is in the seller, so few metres below first apartment.

Last edited:
Down here, they install a head tank with a "sheeps crook" vent higher than the interior ceiling of the highest floor...natural head pressure to counteract the gravity of the internal system...highest radiator plus maybe 5-6 feet.

10m column of water is 1 bar if it helps in the thought process.

Different system here, no head tanks whatsoever, only air release valves at top points of pipes on furthest radiators. On a second floor we changed pipes from black iron to copper when renovating couple of years ago.
Expansion tank is in the seller next to boiler.

Is the expansion tank water bound? In other words, full of water with no air in tank?

We had a system like that years ago. When the system heated up, some water would come out the pressure relief valve. I turned some valves to isolate the expansion tank. Then I drained the tank to let air into the tank. Then I let the system refill the tank. With a pocket of air trapped in the tank, it worked properly.

Originally Posted By: Rick in PA
Is the expansion tank water bound? In other words, full of water with no air in tank?