Mobil 1 5w30 for 2012 golf tdi ok? ....

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 2012 vw golf tdi which has a dpf delete and Malone software. I have been running vw 507 oil the whole time. I recently purchased some mobil 1 synthetic 5w30 at a great price. It is not the esp forumula which I currently am using.

From what I have read I don't require a special approved oil anymore, but I'm wondering if anyone has experience using a regular synthetic oil with a setup like mine.

On the mobil 1 site it does mention it can be used in diesel engines as well, I just want to be sure as I'm not an oil expert.

Thanks

Your car needs a HTHS >3.5 which in the Mobil line only the 0W-30 ESP formula has it.
Every other 5W-30 has a low HTHS, if you want to keep using Mobil you can use the M1 0W-40 or if you want to use another then look for the 507 spec or in its defect the ACEA A3/B4 or the DEXOS 2 spec. Avoid anything with ILSAC GF-5 or the DEXOS 1 spec. That will ruin your engine

I have heard amazing things about Mobil 0w-40 on this site. I have only used it once, on a CLK430. I will say this- if the manufacturer calls for something like Mobile One 0w-40, there is a really good reason for it, and you should use it, no questions asked.

I appreciate the replies.

I don't have a dpf or stock cats anymore. I have a custom downpipe with a high flow cat to the stock muffler.

I know I don't require a low ash oil anymore. The hths viscosity is something I didn't look at: The esp is ~3.5, the regular is ~3.0.

VW calls for a '507' approved 5w30 oil for a stock car with dpf, which I am not. I'm not loyal to mobil 1, I used it based on price.

I guess I will return the oil I bought, I still have enough of the esp oil for the next oil change anyways.