Aftermarket radiators--Mazda MPV?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I need a radiator on my 2003 Mazda MPV. I can get an OEM radiator installed for $822 or an aftermarket for $575. Shop says the aftermarkets that they use are fine. Any opinions?

I worked as an auto mechanic at a Honda dealer before going back to school and eventually becoming a UPS diesel semi mechanic.
At the dealer, we bought non OEM radiators from crash parts stores when allowed. You can get one delivered if you bought online for under $150. The aftermarket ones are fine. Many radiators get borked in car accidents, making them cheap in the aftermarket if you know where to look.

My wife could replace it.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nL_KyhW8AU

I would want to know (precisely) what brand the aftermarket is. I'd try to get the same brand as the OE, or at least a brand that supplies some OE.

Radiator is usually a pretty easy install, sourcing an OEM from a discounter and installing it your self should be a reasonable undertaking. I'm sure we could he,p you out if you hit a snag.

CSF is one brand that the shop mentioned. I normally do this kind of work myself, but the bumper has to come off. It looks like a 5 hour job. Shop quoted $300 for labor.

I installed a CSF in my 89 Accord, a Koyo in my ex's 99 Oasis, and a Spectra Premium in my daughter's 99 I30.

The one in the Accord was still good nine years, and over 100K miles later. The one in the Oasis lasted at least ten years (she sold the car). And, the one in the I30 is still fine after five years.

None of them cost over $100.

I have used plenty of aftermarket radiators with no real issues if it was not damaged in shipping.

Most come in a brown box with a different sticker so even if you like BrandX it may be the same as BrandY just a different sticker on the outside.

For imports: I'd typically opt for Spectra-Premium replacement plastic radiators, no issues over 2+ decades of repair works so far (no comebacks).