ditched X-ice Xi2's for Altimax Arctics

Status
Not open for further replies.
What a tremendous difference the past week has been. I bought the Michelins 2 years ago against my better judgement. I had the original Michelin Arctic Alpin a long time ago and that was a horrible winter tire. That soured me on Michelin for a long time. I should have bought the General 2 years ago, but decided to give Michelin another chance. It was a huge mistake. When my wife even asks me when I'm going to put the winter tires on while driving on them all along, you know they are not effective.

We had snow on Monday and yesterday during the day and overnight. The Generals are so much better in the snow and slush. They truly feel like a winter tire should feel, and I've been driving on winter tires for 38 years. The advantage the Michelin may have on ice is so much smaller than the General has on slush and snow that it's a no-brainer. Maybe in areas that do not get a lot of snow the Michelin may be better, but in my area, the studded design (run without studs) works better.

I sold them with 8/32" tread left in the center to a guy with a Charger. I told him that they would be better than his current all-season tires.

This is good to hear! We have the AltiMAX Arctic for the Mazda 3 in the signature below. Last year in Central PA, the General's did well but, there was more ice than snow in Happy Valley!

Still a little slippage when stopped & starting off on hilly slopes but, not as bad as the H727's had gotten.

Your confirmation is good to hear, lyle.

I bought Altimax Arctics for the ex's Mercury Marauder (not the one in my sig) a few years ago...I think this will be the third season on them coming up. She says she feels safe and the car has never gotten stuck, so it must have been a good choice for the use. (Plus, she's somewhat of a motor-head and actually KNOWS how to drive...
19.gif
)