Do axle spindles wear out?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks for the info. I have a lifetime alignment policy at Firestone, they have aligned it twice and not found any problems or had any trouble getting it aligned to specs. I did not really notice any of the one hand on the wheel vibration when I was coming home tonight, maybe that was from the out of spec bearing.

I did jack the truck up again when I got home from work today and it still has just a little play in the wheel at the 12 and 6:00 positions. I had it supported by the frame, though. I am off work for Veterans' Day tomorrow so will put the jack under the control arm and check it that way. I am no expert but I do know that no matter how you lift the truck there should be no play at all in the wheel. It should be tight to the hub. My left front wheel has no play or movement at all so I know something is wrong somewhere with the right wheel. I have a feeling I will be replacing both ball joints on that side very soon. I do not want to ruin another bearing.

Well the wheel has a very small amount of play in it when I grab it at 12 and 6:00 and rock back and forth with the truck lifted by the control arm. When I support the truck lifted by the frame, it seems to have almost twice as much movement as it does with the jack under the control arm. There is no movement when I rock the wheel at the 3 and 9:00 positions and no movement in and out from the hub. I don't know if this means bad ball joints or not and am welcome to any help here. Thanks.

You want to lift by the suspension arm when you test.

1/16 of an inch is the max play.