What Ever... winter tires can be PRICELESS

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been running 4 winter tires on my vehicles for 18 years. Will not drive on all-seasons ever in the winter. Just installed 4 winter tires on a guys AWD Subaru, that's lucky to be alive. I remember the newscast from last winter, This guy got caught on glare ice shaded from late day sun on a yellow light. Slide for along ways, until the semi driver with the green light (not checking for coast clear) pulled out. The guy broadsided the trailer, ducking at the last second. Airlifted 100mi and barely survived. You need all the luck you can get, and it can be cheaper in the long run with the right tires for the conditions. ALWAYS be careful.

But ... but .... the subaru commercial says I can drive in snow and ice with no snow tires!!!!

I have brand new all seasons but I still decided to run snows. We got some snow yesterday so it's time

So are you saying that winter tire on his AWD Subaru would have saved him on glare ice?

What kind of tires were on his Subaru? How deep was the thread on his tires?
Yes winter tires are better on snow and ice than all seasons but there are too many unknowns with this story.

Originally Posted By: Reggaemon
So are you saying that winter tire on his AWD Subaru would have saved him on glare ice?

What kind of tires were on his Subaru? How deep was the thread on his tires?
Yes winter tires are better on snow and ice than all seasons but there are too many unknowns with this story.

Winter tires, proper winter tires, can stop in as little as one half the distance of all season tires on ice. So, yep, traction makes the difference.

I don't know the person and I don't know the story... but... an idiot can outdrive anything. It's not impossible to slide through an intersection on snow tires, or all wheel drive, or whatever other invincibility device you've been sold.