Under engine cover on new car

Status
Not open for further replies.
First time I changed the oil on my new 2014 ford fusion, I put it up on the ramps , slid under, and said "what the he**, I can't see the engine." Then realized there is a cover that has to come off, that covers the whole underside of the engine and is held on by I think 12 small screws. My question is, do I really need this cover, or the next time (probably spring) I change oil , can I just leave it off?? Is it there for wind noise abatement, gas mileage increase, or is it suppose to protect something? Although it is just a heavy fiberboard. I have been crawling around under car for 50+ years, and Never saw this before, of course my last new car was in 2005. It seems like an extra pain to me to have to r+r this cover all the time, even though I only do it 2 times a year.

I'd leave it on, protects stuff if you run over any road debris on the highway and reduces wind drag. My 04' TDI Beetle has one.

Reduces wind drag - seeing how you might do a lot of highway miles where you live, definitely leave it on.
Should be some way to access oil drain plug and oil filter without having to remove cover. My 2013 Sonata has a hole for the filter in the under body tray and a clip off/on cover for the oil pan plug.
Just checked a video - no under tray access hatches. wow.

Last edited:
I figured it was for wind, but sure wish there was an access hole to drain oil and get to the filter. Maybe I can figure a way to make a hole in the proper place(s) and then an easily removed cover for the holes.

Leave it. It has many purposes

That being said, fellow rust belter
When you go to put it back together, if its a metal screw or clip, PAINT IT in the silver anti sieze.

...you'll thank me 5 years down the line