Grades of Aluminum

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am trying to understand various types of Aluminum was they are used for bicycle parts. There's a 2014 aluminum used by Ritchie, 7000 by Thomson, 6061 by Dimension. I've never used Dimension before but have Thomson and Ritchie parts and am very pleased with them. Any opinions?

Originally Posted By: whizbyu
I am trying to understand various types of Aluminum was they are used for bicycle parts. There's a 2014 aluminum used by Ritchie, 7000 by Thomson, 6061 by Dimension. I've never used Dimension before but have Thomson and Ritchie parts and am very pleased with them. Any opinions?

2014 is a copper alloy, medium high strength, good forging alloy.

6061 is a silicon alloy, all purpose medium strength, easy fabrication, best price/performance of the 3.

7000 is a zinc alloy, high strength alloy. Used a lot in aero-space applications.

This is very general. Google the alloy number to get lots of info.

Wayne

Can't help with regard to the specifics of bike parts.

The four digit designations controls the percentages of alloying elements. Letters and numbers that follow the four digits specify the temper. So in the case of 6061-T4 the "6061" designates the alloy composition, and the "T4" is the specifics of the temper.

Never heard of 7000. Might be the "alloy" a manufacturer chooses to market their product under, as opposed to a true alloy number. Such practice is often used in the cutlery industry, where terms like "Surgical Steel", "Chrome vanadium", and "High Carbon" are used which, by themselves, specify very little.

In many aluminum alloy applications, the temper is just as important as the alloy itself.

In aerospace I see mostly 6061 and 7075 of various tempers.

Sometimes an alloy's ease of machining or welding can influence the alloy chosen.

Search "alluminum alloys" at wikipedia for more info.

Last edited: