Oil for engine that burns it

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello
I am new to this forum. I have a 2002 Honda Civic LX with 207k miles on the clock. I've had the car for 2 years and a few months, and I've put 30k on it since I bought it. It hasn't given me many problems until the last couple oil changes. It seems like I need to add more and more oil between changes. I've added over 1.5 quarts in about 1500 miles. I think my engine is burning oil because it smokes out the exhaust. It killed my catalytic converter and I had it replaced. It doesn't seem to have any other symptoms. The oil doesn't look milky, coolant level and color is ok. I'm not a mechanic but after doing some research it seems that it's my valve seals or piston rings. It runs fine no noise or other symptoms. So my question is would high mileage oil help and what else can I do to keep it going for as long as possible? I currently use Castrol GTX 5W 20. Should I switch to castrol high mileage and just drive it into the ground? Thanks.

Start with Maxlife 5w-30, and you can move to 10w-40 if need be.

However, if you're burning oil to the point that it's smoking all the time, you're probably going to be destroying catalytic converters until it's repaired.

256K miles, 1 quart per 1000 miles oil consumption. Cylinder head refurbishment and piston rings replacement were the only solution. 5w50 oil did not help for me.

That amount of oil consumption is not too terrible. I would go up a grade to 5w-30.

When my van started burning more oil than usual I switched to QS Defy 5w-30 and that helped a little bit. I then switched to PYB 5w-30 and that was a little better still.

Change your PCV valve. That might help quite a bit.