does one need all 4 winter tires?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Rolla07
Originally Posted By: RISUPERCREWMAN
Originally Posted By: A_Harman
Yes, use dedicated winter tires at all 4 corners.
If you use them in the rear only, you will see what you're going to hit in the windshield.
If you use them in the front only, you will see what you're going to hit in the rear-view mirror.

I respectfully disagree! I have been driving Crown Vics for the last 28 years as a Police Officer. We only put snow tires on the rear wheels. Never a problem ever using this method.

FWD cars are far superior in winter. Every RWD I have driven including a crown vic with sandbags in the trunk and winters all around still were terrible in winter. Why wouldnt you put winters on the front too? Its definitely going to be better than all seasons. I remember being in a mustang, not a winter car...id put winters all around. Peace of mind is worth a couple hundred bucks.
Again I respectfully disagree! I have been driving Police Interceptor Crown Vic's for 28 years! They are just fine in the snow with snow tires mounted on the rear drive wheels and weight in the trunk! I've been in many major storms in that car & was just fine! Same on my civilian 2011 LX! No issues with snow!

Originally Posted By: bullwinkle
If you're running studs you don't want them on the front, PERIOD.

For some reason local road regulation dictates even amount of studs to every tyre, if you're running studded tyres. Won't pass MOT if there isn't. 85 % of cars in here run studded winters.

Many of you guys are taken in by the tire company talk and spin. Can one put only two Winter tires on? Yes. Do tire companies recommend it? No.

Will the car be all over the road and then in the ditch with only two? No