Quickstruts and my 2007 Escape....

Status
Not open for further replies.
My original struts have started to wear to the point that the bushings have been overstressed and now they make noise when going over bumps while turning. with 115k miles and having to drive over the most uneven and jolting railroad track crossing in the USA SEVERAL times a day, I think I got my money's worth.

I know quickstruts have been talked about a lot. I think everyone seems to agree they are a superior replacement product. Is that true? Any downside to them? Anyone used them before on an escape?

If no objections, I have two options. Monroe (http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=2998833&cc=1433430) and Raybestos (http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=3823458&cc=1433430). The Raybestos are about $10/ea more. The monroe has lifetime warranty vs Raybestos 24 month/24k miles warranty. Anyone think there is a better choice from these two?

Now, last question. I am a super novice with DIY. The most complicated DIY project I have done would be the fuel filter replacement and/or replacing the spark plugs. I do have access to a heavy duty floor jack and a torque wrench. Is removing old struts and installing the quickstruts a DIY type project for a novice? I'm worried about the springs when removing the old assembly.

Thanks for all the input I know I'll get.

I forgot to add my trusted local mechanic will install these for $155/each. Seems a bit high to me.

Would I need to do an alignment check after this? I just had the car aligned last week.

Yea that is high for a quick strut. Maybe $155 for both and even then that is still more than fair.

Yes you will need an alignment. You can mark the old strut but it still may be off a little.

And I am not a fan of the quick struts. They seem to be the bottom of the barrel when it comes to quality.
I just did 12 struts and just bought new mounts and new struts. But I am also a tech so easier for me to say that then someone else.