Thoughts on Michelin X-Ice Xi3?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm very seriously considering the Xi3 for the 3 this winter, but I wanted to get any input on how they stack up against (mostly newer) competetive tires before pulling the trigger.

I'm also intrigued by the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 4D, though I've had some rather poor experiences with other Goodyear products in the past. The Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 is also on my short list, along with the Continental ExtremeWinterContact and ContiWinterContact TS 830P.

Anybody got any experience to offer?

I've run them (xi3) on 2 E-Class with 4-Matic, and they work well; huge improvement over all-season Michelin's. My wifes Audi has the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D. But notice, that Tire Rack considers the 3D/4D, a winter/snow tire, and the xi3 a snow/ice tire. The new Blizzaks got a good preliminary review so far from Tire Rack as well.

Last thing, is that I do about 15k miles a year, and havw snows on from late November to early March, and the Michelin's show very little wear.

Pick the winter tire type and then narrow down to the brand/model you want.
You have studless: Xi3 and R2 and performance: 4D and TS830.

What do you want from your winter tires?
Put in order of importance:
ice, snow, wet, dry, noise, slush (some test for it too)

Krzys

If you want a real ice/snow champion, you can drop Dunlop and TS830 from your list. They probably (according test results I've been seen) have better grip on wet and dry asphalt, and higher slush resistance though.

Xi3, R2 and EWC are all high quality products for winter, one wouldn't go wrong with any of them.