Intel NUC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Got this stuff as an early birthday gift from my wife. While I agree that it’s somewhat overpriced for its performance (still a lot faster than my old honky media center PC), I just like the form factor and low power draw, and those were the primary reasons for getting it. In summary: it’s cute.

I installed RAM and SSD in it last night, and then loaded up Ubuntu. It’ll be used as a file server, plus Plex and Logitech Media Server, among other things.

Since I am fairly new to Linux, I’m still figuring out how to make things like external USB drive resources accessible to Plex Server and to Logitech Media Server, as well as to Windows users. I’ll learn eventually.

DSC_6037.jpg

DSC_6048.jpg

DSC_6045.jpg

DSC_6049.jpg

DSC_6051.jpg

DSC_6057.jpg

samsung_840_evo_2.jpg

Quote:

Since I am fairly new to Linux, I’m still figuring out how to make things like external USB drive resources accessible to Plex Server and to Logitech Media Server,

I don't know what those products(plex etc) are, but since you loaded the desktop version of Ubuntu, the external devices will be under hotplug USB control, something you DON'T want.

The external USB needs to be mounted @ boot time, not login time, so 'hot plug' needs to be turned off and the /etc/fstab file edited to mount @ boot.

If you hotplug the device it will show up under the /media mountpoint. If you mount it @ boot, you can mount it 'anywhere'

This is one of the fundamental drawbacks of desktop linux (other than a 25 yo bash vulnerability); a server OS with the idea of 24x7 uptime has to be shoehorned into a framework of a single user (who wants to do administrative type things) using the machine.

Moe to Curly; I like it, NUC NUC NUC.

Last edited:
Nice!

I went a little different way and picked up Asus Chromebox ...for my parents ...
They love Chrome OS - ultra fast, secure.

Originally Posted By: simple_gifts
Quote: