06 GM 2.2 12,600 mi Mixed Syn Shell/Conv PYB 5w30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Finally signed up after browsing this site for quite a while. I’ve been tinkering with cars for about 40 years and I eventually came to the conclusion I’d change oil twice a year, mostly because I’m lazy and secondly because it seems to be cost effective. The oils used for these three runs were whatever was cheaply available at the time and I do not hesitate to mix oils. The first test did not contain any synthetics and produced low TBN readings so I included some Group III synthetics in the next two runs. Driving 50/50 Highway City.

The first test [7,500 mi] oil was Canadian Tire [shell] Supreme conventional 5W30 with a bosch filter.

The second test [8,500 mi] oil was %80 Canadian Tire synthetic [shell] and %20 conventional 5W30. I’m not really sure what brand the conventional oil was, perhaps PYB or Castrol GTX. Mobil 1 ext performance filter. During the run .5 quarts PYB was added.

The third test [12,600mi. 3,000 of which was a highway trip] oil was %50 Canadian Tire synthetic [shell] and %50 PYB 5W30. Basic Fram Filter. During the run .8 quarts Valvoline Synthetic 5W30 was added.

Most people here don’t seem to want to exceed 5 or 6,000 miles even though the UOAs they are posting don’t show excessive engine wear and the oil is still good. I don’t think it’s harmful to go further. Too each his own.

Last edited:
Looks great! If I did more highway driving I would be able to extend my OCI. But my short trips keep my OCI fairy short.

Why do you mix synthetic and conventional? You should have swapped filters for the second and third run. You went 12,600 miles on a orange Fram filter? Yikes!!!! Sodium was high too back almost a year ago.

The sodium may have come from the Valvoline synthetic 0.8 quarts that was added.

I'm guessing too much time has passed for the Fram filter to be cut open at 12.5k miles.

Excellent reports.