RP vs. Valv SynP

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know I know, same old post, different day.

Recently purchased 2010 Ford Taurus SEL with 100K miles (was a corporate car). I am a college student and currently drive 90% around town. But starting next August I will be commuting 40 miles per day.

Option 1:
RP 5w-20 w/ RP filter- 10K mile OCI's

Option 2:
Valvoline SynPower 5w-20 w/ RP filter- 7500 (or 5K, haven't decided) OCI's.

I plan on keeping this car for many many years.

Thanks

Also, anyone know of shops that will drain tranny fluid and refill with the ATF of your choice? I'm wanting to use the RP tranny fluid but have no way to do a complete change without a machine.

+1 Synpower

Nothing against RP but iv haven't seen much to make it any better then most other oils out their.

Have you considered Fram ultra filters? Don't let the name scare you they are up their with the best of the best. And they are cheaper. Dual synthetic media, and wire backed mess.

Should look into it!

The tranny fluid machines can be bad. I wouldn't use it unless you have to replace the tranny and it was a last resort.

Drop and fill is the way to go. Measure what you take out and add it back. Do it every 10-15k miles and your good.

They also make transition pans with oil plugs. Might want to see if they make one for your car.

If the RP is good for 10k, so is the Valvoline. Keep it topped off with either one you choose. Drop & fill on the ATF as stated by 3800Series.

A corporate car which probably used dino its entire life? Synthetic at this stage in the game? Not something I would do. PYB every 5K miles with Motorcraft filter for the win.

Originally Posted By: 3800Series
+1 Synpower

Nothing against RP but iv haven't seen much to make it any better then most other oils out their.

Have you considered Fram ultra filters? Don't let the name scare you they are up their with the best of the best. And they are cheaper. Dual synthetic media, and wire backed mess.