Realistic Life Span of Today's Roofing Shingles

Status
Not open for further replies.
Another roofing thread/question
smile.gif
. Getting some roof quotes and I find myself coming back to this question.

Assuming everything else is proper / not causing the newly installed shingles to age prematurely, what's the real world expected life of an arcitrectural shingle installed today (talking Timberline HD or the comperable IKO shingle).

I know, lot's of variablies that could cause premature wear but assuming everything is done correctly, are these really going to last 50+ years like GAFs Material Defect Coverage would lead one to believe or are they going to age out well before that, and if so, what's a realistic life?

Located in lower NY, 80 to 90 degrees F in the summer, very "easy" roof.

As a real estate broker I see lots of roofs. I'd say that on a 3 tab you could get 20-25, but a bad installation job or a bad lot could see them last only 15-20 years. Therefore I'd say an architectural could last 30 years or more. I actually haven't seen too many architectural shingle roofs that are shot, mostly 3 tabs if they're shot as they haven't really been out that long. However it's possible that they could last 40-50 years. It's just that if you read the warranty, it only transfers twice from GAF. The original owner gets the lifetime warranty and I think it's full replacement up to 50 years. If you sell the house within 20 years, it transfers to the new owner, after 20 years, the new owner only gets 2 years. Most people move every 7-10 years so they're counting on not too many people being around to collect on the warranty. I think there were some old shingles like T-locks which aren't made anymore which have lasted 40-50 years so it's possible that the architectural shingle could really last 50 years or more.