Yet another rant thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
Originally Posted By: 29662
Try having a non-english name in a state like South Carolina. Frustrating does not describe it.

I've even been asked if I spoke English, after having carried on a short conversation with the person. My response was "yes, I was born here, and unlike you I have a college degree, and my English is far better than yours". The dumb country bumpkin of a receptionist got all offended and went off crying somewhere. I thought that was an odd question from someone who sounded like their parents just might be first cousins.

I get frustrated with the South's accent too. But they was a bit hurtful, I can understand being offended by someone insulting your first language. But if the first cards you pull are "well, I was born here and am a college graduate". How many people have you met with those credentials that can't count, spell, or type for there life?

Secretaries and receptionists REALLY need to up there game, if they don't want there jobs taken by Siri.

I understand your point, but as I stated we had been talking for about a minute before she asked me that; after I gave her my name. And it was purely based on the fact that I have a non-English name.

I deal with clients from all over the world. I always try and do my best to pronounce their names properly. It doesn't always work out that way , but I try to be as respectful of their culture and language as possible. Some others could care less...

Last edited:
My dad is from Finland and i got his lastname.
People get it wrong so often that i get surprised when someone acctually manage to prenounce and spell it right.
My firstnamne is also surprisingly hard for people to spell and prenounce.
I have seen: Piere, Pirre, Pjer, Pjerr, Pjeer and Pjär... its is Pierre
Sometimes i get so tired of it that i just tell them to use my middlename instead which is Peter.