Bought a Glock 19

Status
Not open for further replies.
Glock probably does not want steel cased ammo because the steel ammo wears extractors a little bit faster and they probably don't want to have people try try to warranty the pistol for it. That or they simply don't trust the people that brought you Chernobyl to make consistent quality ammo.

I've owned about 40-50 Glocks in my lifetime, and have shot at least 100K rounds, maybe 200K rounds through them. I like to think that I have extensive knowledge of this subject.

1) Steel cased ammo is fine for the range. Not for self defense. Just yesterday I went to the range and shot up 50 rounds of Brown Bear 9mm through a Sig P226. 3 rounds failed to fire. Diagnosis: Proper firing pin strikes, excessively hard primers on the Russian ammo. You can get brass cased or Aluminum cased Blazer for a few cents more per round. Avoid the steel case ammo if your budget allows you to spend a few extra dollars. If you already have the ammo, then you might as well shoot it up.

2) Glock cheapened their extractors from machined bar stock to MIM (metal injection molding). It is well known that Glock MIM extractors wear pretty quickly, especially when shooting steel case ammo.

3) Glock pistols were designed in Austria to use European spec ammo. American spec ammo is not as powerful as European spec ammo. People break their $500 Glock pistols in with garbage ammo and then complain when the pistol doesn't function as expected. Try and find a nice hot Italian made Fiocchi or 9MM NATO round to shoot for the first 200 rounds. (9MM NATO is loaded similarly to a 124+p)

Ruskie ammo does have hard primers. I had to put a more powerful hammmer spring in my M1 Carbine to shoot the Wolf 30 carbine rounds.

And ditto on the difference between Euro and American ammo. I remember my grandpa telling me he had a terrible time getting his P08 to shoot regular off the shelf 9mm back in the day.