PH16 replacement questions...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys. I am amazed by the knowledge I read here, and am grateful for the help I have gotten here just by spending hours reading the posts. I've searched here on oversized filters for the size ph16, but am just a bit more confused then before I looked.

Both my 1994 Chrysler T & C van with a 3.8 V6 engine and my 1992 dodge Spirit with a 2.5 4 cyl engine take the same filter, a PH16. ( I believe) I know the T & C takes the PH16 because I've owned it for years...currently has 208k and still looks new.
The Dodge spirit I just bought, and currently has a Carquest B4670 filter on it. I believe that cross referances to a PH16 also.

I've read here that a PH16 equals a PH8A, but it does not have a bypass valve.

I initually wanted to use a bigger filter, because there is a lot of room for a bigger one on both vehicles, but now I'm a bit scared that I can pick the wrong one.

I'm no mechanic....I do little stuff, built my own house, but feel more at home replacing a water heater or a electrical panal box then working on a car. I've been using Fram filters, but read here that they are not the most liked. Sounds like even the Walmart brand are better liked then the frams. Sounds like people here like the NAPA brand a lot also.

I do not know about bypass valves, etc, so maybe I should just stick with the PH16 size, and go with the brands you all recommend. I change my oil about every 3000 miles, which is about 2-3x a year on my vehicles.

Can I safely use a different filter, and if so, what would you all recommend?

Thank you in advance for your kind help. you guys seem like the kind of people you wish you had for neighbors.

Frank D.

I used to use the PH8A... but switched to the Motorcraft FL-1A on my 2.5 Caravan when I joined BITOG. Instead of 4 quarts & 16 ounce capacity with the PH-16, I give it 4 quarts & 20 ounces now. No problems.