Recent Topics
20W-50 for a hydraulic system?
by ford46guy
05/26/16 03:48 AM
new castrol edge high mileage synthetic
by hiflo
05/26/16 03:32 AM
Just an interesting question
by southernjeeper
05/26/16 01:52 AM
Value power Walmart battery acid flying out
by bbhero
05/26/16 12:44 AM
Leased 2013 Ford Suv With19,882 Miles Original Oil
by crazyoildude
05/25/16 10:35 PM
Steak-House Burgers
by sleddriver
05/25/16 09:53 PM
Got into an accident.
by bdcardinal
05/25/16 09:42 PM
Its coming here more and more
by CourierDriver
05/25/16 08:40 PM
Interpreting oil pressure vs engine RPM
by Emperors6
05/25/16 08:39 PM
$4 Fram Ultra - Blain's F&F
by Poohbah
05/25/16 08:21 PM
Toolbox - Pliers
by greasegunn
05/25/16 08:09 PM
ProSelect Oil Filter????
by qwerty1234
05/25/16 08:05 PM
Newest Members
jerryg, 1971tr350, Mak712, Lex4TDI4Life, cdub76
57988 Registered Users
Who's Online
23 registered (Char Baby, bbhero, asand1, alcyon, cobra7279, 3 invisible), 514 Guests and 338 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
57988 Members
66 Forums
249413 Topics
4082637 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3444354 - 08/03/14 12:18 AM comp monitor flickers every minute or 2...
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3332
Loc: los angeles
I've been noticing that recently, my monitor's display flickers every minute or so.Is there a setting that might I can adjust for this? It's an Asus 19".
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#3444405 - 08/03/14 04:51 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 350
Loc: None
Could be the drivers or the graphics card.
Update your drivers to the latest stable version and see if it goes away.


Edited by Noobie (08/03/14 04:52 AM)
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3444414 - 08/03/14 05:24 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lolvoguy Offline


Registered: 02/06/14
Posts: 878
Loc: Canada
what model of monitor?
_________________________
07 Focus ZX4 SES- Wife
88 BMW 325is- Mistress
03 Suzuki SV650S- One night stand

Top
#3444431 - 08/03/14 06:17 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lubener Offline


Registered: 01/22/11
Posts: 1186
Loc: Ohio
I doubt a driver would cause an intermittent problem like this.A driver issue would not start to cause an issue after everything worked good previously.Is this a CRT or a panel?


Edited by Lubener (08/03/14 06:19 AM)
_________________________
The "thinking" man's friend.

Top
#3444508 - 08/03/14 08:30 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
fdcg27 Offline


Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 11833
Loc: OH
Probably time to look around for a new monitor.
If you have a known good monitor sitting around, try it and see if the problem goes away.
If not, then you have an issue related to either software, something on the motherboard or the motherboard itself, which I realize isn't very helpful.
_________________________
12 Accord LX 45K TGMO 0W-20
09 Forester 67K PU 5W-30
02 Accord 144K GOil 5W-30
01 Focus ZX3 112K M1 5W-20
95 BMW 318iC 155K Defy 10W-40

Top
#3444679 - 08/03/14 12:14 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 7130
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
My AOC monitor did the same thing for almost a month, even after making sure my Windows Shockwave Flashplayer was always updated.

Then one day I did a full scan with C-Cleaner. I suspect it removed a bug in my Registry that caused it.
Ever since I did that 'full' C-Cleaner cleanup, no more monitor flickering.

Top
#3444681 - 08/03/14 12:16 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ToyotaNSaturn Offline


Registered: 04/11/03
Posts: 11279
Loc: Spring Hill, TN
Change the resolution and frequency. If a flat panel, try 59 or 60hz on a different display setting. Often times this works as the long term solution.
_________________________
2006 Mercury Montego, V6
2004 Saturn Vue, V6

Top
#3446283 - 08/05/14 03:42 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 350
Loc: None
I had a similar problem like a week ago.
My monitor was not flickering but for some reason it was freezing and turned completely black for 1 second and then it worked properly again. This happened every couple minutes and at the end i just uninstalled the drivers, did a reg clean with CCleaner, used a special tool to clean old driver files and installed the latest stable release.
No problems so far.
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3446672 - 08/05/14 12:12 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7938
Loc: Walker, MI
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 92k - Havoline 10W-30/Purolator PureOne PL10111
08 Scion tC - 118k - RP 0W-20/Purolator Classic L14477

Top
#3448001 - 08/06/14 03:07 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
ironman_gq Offline


Registered: 04/30/14
Posts: 416
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.

Top
#3448727 - 08/07/14 10:12 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ironman_gq]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7938
Loc: Walker, MI
Originally Posted By: ironman_gq
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.


No clue, I suspect it had something to do with the auto-setup on the PS3, but it hasn't done it since I switched the resolution within the system back to 720p. Placebo effect? Perhaps...
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 92k - Havoline 10W-30/Purolator PureOne PL10111
08 Scion tC - 118k - RP 0W-20/Purolator Classic L14477

Top
#3449019 - 08/07/14 04:09 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 7130
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
What is the difference between 'native' and 'default'?

Top