Chevron Lubricants Q&A

click here to participate in the Chevron Lubricants Q&A

Recent Topics
Removing paint from concrete steps
by dja4260
04/27/15 05:12 PM
wax as u dry
by raaizin
04/27/15 05:07 PM
New Car: 2015 Camry
by Delta
04/27/15 04:51 PM
Stihl backpack blower lost about 1/2 it's power.
by callbay
04/27/15 04:36 PM
Looting in Baltimore has started
by Mr Nice
04/27/15 04:33 PM
Forum "Recent Topics" Chronological List of Topics
by EdwardC
04/27/15 04:03 PM
07 FIT ATF - Amsoil?
by slackwolf
04/27/15 03:39 PM
Royal Purple Maxclean vs SI-1- Which should I buy?
by Avery4
04/27/15 03:28 PM
Transmission pan gaskets
by dlundblad
04/27/15 02:38 PM
rotella syn blend 15-40 new grade
by t350exc
04/27/15 02:16 PM
duralube/ stp green any good?
by robo339
04/27/15 02:14 PM
car tool box kit - which?
by bmwjohn
04/27/15 01:34 PM
Newest Members
erickzao, t350exc, mike57, BobShaw, Bauhauz
53755 Registered Users
Who's Online
110 registered (01rangerxl, 2010_FX4, 29662, 97K15004WD, 02s4audi, 14 invisible), 2002 Guests and 175 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53755 Members
66 Forums
230423 Topics
3688723 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3444354 - 08/03/14 12:18 AM comp monitor flickers every minute or 2...
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3226
Loc: los angeles
I've been noticing that recently, my monitor's display flickers every minute or so.Is there a setting that might I can adjust for this? It's an Asus 19".
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#3444405 - 08/03/14 04:51 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 187
Loc: None
Could be the drivers or the graphics card.
Update your drivers to the latest stable version and see if it goes away.


Edited by Noobie (08/03/14 04:52 AM)
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3444414 - 08/03/14 05:24 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lolvoguy Online   content


Registered: 02/06/14
Posts: 374
Loc: Canada
what model of monitor?
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Clevy

Ultimately my car is an appliance bought to serve me.

Top
#3444431 - 08/03/14 06:17 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lubener Offline


Registered: 01/22/11
Posts: 497
Loc: Ohio
I doubt a driver would cause an intermittent problem like this.A driver issue would not start to cause an issue after everything worked good previously.Is this a CRT or a panel?


Edited by Lubener (08/03/14 06:19 AM)

Top
#3444508 - 08/03/14 08:30 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
fdcg27 Online   content


Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 10605
Loc: OH
Probably time to look around for a new monitor.
If you have a known good monitor sitting around, try it and see if the problem goes away.
If not, then you have an issue related to either software, something on the motherboard or the motherboard itself, which I realize isn't very helpful.
_________________________
12 Accord LX 30K TGMO 0W-20
09 Forester 67K PU 5W-30
02 Accord 139K GOil 5W-30
01 Focus ZX3 101K Meijer Syn 5W-20
95 BMW 318iC 150K Defy 10W-40

Top
#3444679 - 08/03/14 12:14 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6632
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
My AOC monitor did the same thing for almost a month, even after making sure my Windows Shockwave Flashplayer was always updated.

Then one day I did a full scan with C-Cleaner. I suspect it removed a bug in my Registry that caused it.
Ever since I did that 'full' C-Cleaner cleanup, no more monitor flickering.

Top
#3444681 - 08/03/14 12:16 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ToyotaNSaturn Offline


Registered: 04/11/03
Posts: 11267
Loc: Spring Hill, TN
Change the resolution and frequency. If a flat panel, try 59 or 60hz on a different display setting. Often times this works as the long term solution.
_________________________
2006 Mercury Montego, V6
2004 Saturn Vue, V6

Top
#3446283 - 08/05/14 03:42 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 187
Loc: None
I had a similar problem like a week ago.
My monitor was not flickering but for some reason it was freezing and turned completely black for 1 second and then it worked properly again. This happened every couple minutes and at the end i just uninstalled the drivers, did a reg clean with CCleaner, used a special tool to clean old driver files and installed the latest stable release.
No problems so far.
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3446672 - 08/05/14 12:12 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7777
Loc: Walker, MI
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 85k - Mobil 1 HM 10W-30/Carquest Blue 85040
08 Scion tC - 104k - Mobil 1 0W-20 AFE/Napa Gold 1392

Top
#3448001 - 08/06/14 03:07 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
ironman_gq Offline


Registered: 04/30/14
Posts: 202
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.

Top
#3448727 - 08/07/14 10:12 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ironman_gq]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7777
Loc: Walker, MI
Originally Posted By: ironman_gq
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.


No clue, I suspect it had something to do with the auto-setup on the PS3, but it hasn't done it since I switched the resolution within the system back to 720p. Placebo effect? Perhaps...
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 85k - Mobil 1 HM 10W-30/Carquest Blue 85040
08 Scion tC - 104k - Mobil 1 0W-20 AFE/Napa Gold 1392

Top
#3449019 - 08/07/14 04:09 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6632
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
What is the difference between 'native' and 'default'?

Top