Recent Topics
Oil heater
by Camprunner
14 minutes 49 seconds ago
Total quartz 0w20 any opinions
by Joe1
Today at 06:54 AM
Oil changed at dealership and now have sand in it
by Turtleboy
Today at 04:46 AM
Small hole in y pipe
by madRiver
Today at 04:11 AM
Made it 30 days smoke free
by Marco620
Today at 02:08 AM
Anyone w/experience refinishing AT steel plates?
by Oro_O
Today at 01:58 AM
When it feels like too long......
by daves87rs
Today at 01:44 AM
New Honda Accord Hybrid
by JHZR2
Yesterday at 10:58 PM
thinner grease for wheel bearings a hypothetical
by hansj3
Yesterday at 10:10 PM
Fram TG3506 cut open 5500 miles
by jmb3675
Yesterday at 09:54 PM
Why do T6 gallons not have batch/date markings?
by mrsilv04
Yesterday at 09:48 PM
Castrol GTX Magnatec 5W-20 Motor Oil- Feel Me!
by AirgunSavant
Yesterday at 09:47 PM
Newest Members
FishyZ28, FiretoFlames, ryanm8, csammons, TOYJOETA
54895 Registered Users
Who's Online
79 registered (2002 Maxima SE, B20z, 2010_FX4, 77GrandPrix, AirgunSavant, Asterix, 11 invisible), 1336 Guests and 99 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
54895 Members
66 Forums
235156 Topics
3783166 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3444354 - 08/03/14 12:18 AM comp monitor flickers every minute or 2...
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3249
Loc: los angeles
I've been noticing that recently, my monitor's display flickers every minute or so.Is there a setting that might I can adjust for this? It's an Asus 19".
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#3444405 - 08/03/14 04:51 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 233
Loc: None
Could be the drivers or the graphics card.
Update your drivers to the latest stable version and see if it goes away.


Edited by Noobie (08/03/14 04:52 AM)
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3444414 - 08/03/14 05:24 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lolvoguy Offline


Registered: 02/06/14
Posts: 510
Loc: Canada
what model of monitor?
_________________________
07 Focus ZX4 SES - Automatic
88 325is - 5 speed manual

Originally Posted By: Clevy

Ultimately my car is an appliance bought to serve me.

Top
#3444431 - 08/03/14 06:17 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lubener Offline


Registered: 01/22/11
Posts: 703
Loc: Ohio
I doubt a driver would cause an intermittent problem like this.A driver issue would not start to cause an issue after everything worked good previously.Is this a CRT or a panel?


Edited by Lubener (08/03/14 06:19 AM)
_________________________
The "thinking" man's friend.

Top
#3444508 - 08/03/14 08:30 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
fdcg27 Offline


Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 10924
Loc: OH
Probably time to look around for a new monitor.
If you have a known good monitor sitting around, try it and see if the problem goes away.
If not, then you have an issue related to either software, something on the motherboard or the motherboard itself, which I realize isn't very helpful.
_________________________
12 Accord LX 36K PP 0W-20
09 Forester 67K PU 5W-30
02 Accord 144K GOil 5W-30
01 Focus ZX3 101K Meijer Syn 5W-20
95 BMW 318iC 150K Defy 10W-40

Top
#3444679 - 08/03/14 12:14 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6777
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
My AOC monitor did the same thing for almost a month, even after making sure my Windows Shockwave Flashplayer was always updated.

Then one day I did a full scan with C-Cleaner. I suspect it removed a bug in my Registry that caused it.
Ever since I did that 'full' C-Cleaner cleanup, no more monitor flickering.

Top
#3444681 - 08/03/14 12:16 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ToyotaNSaturn Offline


Registered: 04/11/03
Posts: 11274
Loc: Spring Hill, TN
Change the resolution and frequency. If a flat panel, try 59 or 60hz on a different display setting. Often times this works as the long term solution.
_________________________
2006 Mercury Montego, V6
2004 Saturn Vue, V6

Top
#3446283 - 08/05/14 03:42 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 233
Loc: None
I had a similar problem like a week ago.
My monitor was not flickering but for some reason it was freezing and turned completely black for 1 second and then it worked properly again. This happened every couple minutes and at the end i just uninstalled the drivers, did a reg clean with CCleaner, used a special tool to clean old driver files and installed the latest stable release.
No problems so far.
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3446672 - 08/05/14 12:12 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7866
Loc: Walker, MI
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 87k - Q Horsepower 10W-30/Fram Extended Guard XG3980
08 Scion tC - 107k - Mobil 1 0W-20 AFE/Napa Gold 1392

Top
#3448001 - 08/06/14 03:07 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
ironman_gq Offline


Registered: 04/30/14
Posts: 263
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.

Top
#3448727 - 08/07/14 10:12 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ironman_gq]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7866
Loc: Walker, MI
Originally Posted By: ironman_gq
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.


No clue, I suspect it had something to do with the auto-setup on the PS3, but it hasn't done it since I switched the resolution within the system back to 720p. Placebo effect? Perhaps...
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 87k - Q Horsepower 10W-30/Fram Extended Guard XG3980
08 Scion tC - 107k - Mobil 1 0W-20 AFE/Napa Gold 1392

Top
#3449019 - 08/07/14 04:09 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6777
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
What is the difference between 'native' and 'default'?

Top