Recent Topics
2.4l kia optima recommendation
by Batmanj30
4 minutes 42 seconds ago
Kobalt gearless ratchet set $9.98
by dlundblad
7 minutes 4 seconds ago
gummed up oil cap
by Throt
Yesterday at 11:15 PM
Did I buy counterfeit filters?
by Paul_Bell
Yesterday at 10:50 PM
Buying screwdrivers anymore?
by JHZR2
Yesterday at 10:43 PM
DUI checkpoint
by Stelth
Yesterday at 10:19 PM
Recommend an oil for new to me 1995 saturn sc2
by Alltherage
Yesterday at 10:13 PM
Safe to Use Toyota Red or Pink in 1991 Ford F150?
by e55amgbenz007
Yesterday at 09:22 PM
Long trip, OLM on 55% change oil or not?
by donnyj08
Yesterday at 09:07 PM
'13 Ford Ecoboost 3.5L twin turbo 5w30 UOA's
by TurboFX
Yesterday at 08:42 PM
How do you fix a broken door mirror?
by MalfunctionProne
Yesterday at 08:02 PM
Changing the clutch in an ATV
by methusaleh
Yesterday at 07:55 PM
Newest Members
Mradley, dunni88, slapshot111, mike4230, TurboFX
52249 Registered Users
Who's Online
55 registered (01_celica_gt, 2010_FX4, anndel, Artem, 147_Grain, aquariuscsm, 2 invisible), 729 Guests and 207 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
52249 Members
66 Forums
223730 Topics
3547820 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3444354 - 08/03/14 12:18 AM comp monitor flickers every minute or 2...
daves66nova Offline


Registered: 04/11/04
Posts: 3140
Loc: los angeles
I've been noticing that recently, my monitor's display flickers every minute or so.Is there a setting that might I can adjust for this? It's an Asus 19".
_________________________
THIS SPACE FOR RENT, PLEASE PM ME.

Top
#3444405 - 08/03/14 04:51 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 137
Loc: None
Could be the drivers or the graphics card.
Update your drivers to the latest stable version and see if it goes away.


Edited by Noobie (08/03/14 04:52 AM)
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3444414 - 08/03/14 05:24 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lolvoguy Online   content


Registered: 02/06/14
Posts: 254
Loc: Canada
what model of monitor?

Top
#3444431 - 08/03/14 06:17 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Lubener Offline


Registered: 01/22/11
Posts: 257
Loc: Ohio
I doubt a driver would cause an intermittent problem like this.A driver issue would not start to cause an issue after everything worked good previously.Is this a CRT or a panel?


Edited by Lubener (08/03/14 06:19 AM)

Top
#3444508 - 08/03/14 08:30 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
fdcg27 Offline


Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 9653
Loc: OH
Probably time to look around for a new monitor.
If you have a known good monitor sitting around, try it and see if the problem goes away.
If not, then you have an issue related to either software, something on the motherboard or the motherboard itself, which I realize isn't very helpful.
_________________________
12 Accord LX 22K HGMO 0W-20
09 Forester 64K PU 5W-30
02 Accord 134K G-Oil 5W-30
01 Focus ZX3 98K Synpower 10W-30
95 BMW 318iC 150K Defy 10W-40

Top
#3444679 - 08/03/14 12:14 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6410
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
My AOC monitor did the same thing for almost a month, even after making sure my Windows Shockwave Flashplayer was always updated.

Then one day I did a full scan with C-Cleaner. I suspect it removed a bug in my Registry that caused it.
Ever since I did that 'full' C-Cleaner cleanup, no more monitor flickering.

Top
#3444681 - 08/03/14 12:16 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ToyotaNSaturn Offline


Registered: 04/11/03
Posts: 11233
Loc: Spring Hill, TN
Change the resolution and frequency. If a flat panel, try 59 or 60hz on a different display setting. Often times this works as the long term solution.
_________________________
2006 Mercury Montego, V6
2004 Saturn Vue, V6

Top
#3446283 - 08/05/14 03:42 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
Noobie Offline


Registered: 11/23/11
Posts: 137
Loc: None
I had a similar problem like a week ago.
My monitor was not flickering but for some reason it was freezing and turned completely black for 1 second and then it worked properly again. This happened every couple minutes and at the end i just uninstalled the drivers, did a reg clean with CCleaner, used a special tool to clean old driver files and installed the latest stable release.
No problems so far.
_________________________
03 BMW 525i M54 - / Everclear 10W-30
10 BMW 530i N52K - / MaxiGuard 10W-40
12 Audi A6 V6 2.8FSI - / Orbit 10W-40
15 Toyota LC Prado 1KD-FTV - /

Top
#3446672 - 08/05/14 12:12 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: daves66nova]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7463
Loc: Walker, MI
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 83k - Mobil 1 HM 10W-30/Carquest Blue 85040
95 Acura Integra LS - 215k - Havoline Synthetic 5W-30/Mobil 1 M1-104

Top
#3448001 - 08/06/14 03:07 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
ironman_gq Offline


Registered: 04/30/14
Posts: 136
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.

Top
#3448727 - 08/07/14 10:12 AM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ironman_gq]
ThirdeYe Offline


Registered: 02/23/07
Posts: 7463
Loc: Walker, MI
Originally Posted By: ironman_gq
Originally Posted By: ThirdeYe
It wasn't with my PC, but when I first got my PS3, it was trying to output a 1080p signal to my 720p TV. It would work intermittently and randomly turn black and come back on again every so often. I changed it to output 720p instead and I haven't had the issue since. I also have issues with my sound coming and going (handshake issue?) where I have to turn my TV off and on again to get it to come back.


How did that work? Usually anything plugged into HDMI will automatically set the resolution to whatever the native is on the TV.


No clue, I suspect it had something to do with the auto-setup on the PS3, but it hasn't done it since I switched the resolution within the system back to 720p. Placebo effect? Perhaps...
_________________________
99 Pontiac Firebird - 83k - Mobil 1 HM 10W-30/Carquest Blue 85040
95 Acura Integra LS - 215k - Havoline Synthetic 5W-30/Mobil 1 M1-104

Top
#3449019 - 08/07/14 04:09 PM Re: comp monitor flickers every minute or 2... [Re: ThirdeYe]
Triple_Se7en Offline


Registered: 12/04/04
Posts: 6410
Loc: 1/2 hr. north of Detroit
What is the difference between 'native' and 'default'?

Top