IIHS crash testing on small cars

Status
Not open for further replies.
Driver's head missed the airbag completely?

Yeah, that'll leave a mark... Wear a full face helmet?

Guess that side curtain airbag really makes a difference.

I think I saw somewhere on bitog recently where a pothole cracked a wheel in two in the same way. Someone mentioned that it's more common now with the high offset wheels, there ends up being a big lever arm since the inner lip is so long.

Being an engineer, I can only say this:-

There is no way in the hade any of these tests are going to be reproducible to any lengths whatsoever. Imagine a single degree difference in the approach of the vehicle and the results would be completely different. If the car approaches the wall at 89.5 degree instead of 90 degree, you would get completely different collision dynamics. I do not believe the contraption which conducts this crashes has the ability to keep the vehicle approach to the wall perfectly identical in each of its run.

- Vikas

It looks like the difference between airbag or not in this instance is open casket or closed. How many vehicles are there that can sufficiently protect the driver in this kind of crash? My understanding was that an offset wreck such as this at any normal speed basically means death or serious injury.

I think the cx-9 did worse. Are not these old Ford joint venture platforms ( not the new independent Mazda Syyactive platforms? Ill look it up .... The MItsubishi Oullander did VERY, VERY well in the quite severe small overlap test.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Being an engineer, I can only say this:-