Cutting open oil filter...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to the forum so please excuse my ignorance. It seems several members who I assume are doing their own repairs are taking the time to cut open the oil filter during an oil change. Can you enlighten me (I am being serious and sincere) as to the reason for doing so? Also, are there any techs currently in the trade doing this. Thank you for taking the time to answer my question.

Welcome. Today I was in Santa Rosa at the Safari West preserve. It was a really fun tour!!!

I was a tech for Chevrolet in the 1980's and I cut open a few oil filters when instructed to by Chevrolet. I believe it was to check for metal shavings when performing warranty work.

lol, yeah this was a new one for me too. I kept seeing all these post about filters and would open one up and see all these pics of cut open oil filters and thought to my self w.t.f! Of course now, I have done my own filter cutting and have been looking for another one to inspect, great forum and tons of info for the diy guy!

Last edited:
Looking for anything abnormal, and checking out how the filter media held up. Consider this, without them doing that, we wouldn't have found out about the media tear issue currently going on with Purolators.

Originally Posted By: sicko
Looking for anything abnormal, and checking out how the filter media held up. Consider this, without them doing that, we wouldn't have found out about the media tear issue currently going on with Purolators.

And neither would Purolator..

I cut open oil filters to see how they held up under usage in the vehicles I maintain. I look for stressed pleats, tears, amount of pleats, construction, etc. and I use my analysis to help me choose which filters to continue using and which not to use.

Originally Posted By: MrQuackers
And we get bored.