Beware of Chinese Craftsman wrenches

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: 1foxracing
Originally Posted By: Mike Simmons
The Wright wrenches bear a striking resemblance to an economy line of wrenches offered by MAC back in the 60's. Any idea who makes 'em?

Mike

All Wright Tools are manufactured by WRIGHT TOOL here in Ohio.
This is how you receive them.
DSC00031.JPG

Nice tools!

If you're buying a tool that has a guaranteed warranty, even if that particular item was destroyed through obvious neglect, why should I care where it was manufactured?

I absolutely get that a professional has good reason to care about the quality and reliability of their tools. But as an amateur I don't understand.

Originally Posted By: Mykl
If you're buying a tool that has a guaranteed warranty, even if that particular item was destroyed through obvious neglect, why should I care where it was manufactured?

I absolutely get that a professional has good reason to care about the quality and reliability of their tools. But as an amateur I don't understand.
IMO. Up until the last 10-20 years tools were viewed as a something to be proud to own. They were an extension of yourself. Some people still hold on to those ideals and haven't fully embraced the idea of cheap throwaway stuff built with only cost in mind.

Originally Posted By: hatt
IMO. Up until the last 10-20 years tools were viewed as a something to be proud to own. They were an extension of yourself. Some people still hold on to those ideals and haven't fully embraced the idea of cheap throwaway stuff built with only cost in mind.

Ah okay, that I get. I guess I think of tools from a purely practical point of view, as an object that lets me do something so I don't have to pay someone else to do it. I didn't really have the thought that tool collection could be a hobby all by itself.

When you get hurt with cheap tools you will know why.