2011 Honda Oddy Coolant change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I have never done a coolant change so I had it done at the dealer today. $49.95. I have 40k on the van now and I was wondering did I do it too soon? Also, when should it be done again if I did? Is it easy to change like my oil and tranny? Thanks for the help as I have no experience with changing coolant.

Usually the coolant in your van needs to be changed when your maintenance minder indicates '5' as a service code. I would say you did it early but it's done already. You can change it again in 5 years.

The service that was done for $49 was a drain and fill that's pretty easy to do yourself, but $49 is a decent price for genuine coolant.

$50 really isn't that bad for preventative maintenance like that. Sure you could've gone a little bit longer, but I'd always rather change coolant too early than too late.

Ok thanks guys. So I can do it again in 5 years? Sounds good. I'd like to know how to do it myself also. I guess I can go on youtube. Everyone talks about "burping" the coolant. What's that?

Burping the coolant means making sure there are no air bubbles left in the system after your service. On some cars this is done by opening a little plug near the thermostat and letting it flow until you get the air out. Your van may be different. I think you can find out how to do it on your van on google.

Hello, My brother got his Odyssey (a 2007) with 54K on the clock.
We did 2 drain and fills (with 1K driving between the 2) with genuine Honda coolant and now it looks like new.
Frankly, it wasn't that bad to start with.
Keeping the dirt level down in the first place is how it's done.
You done good. Kira

Originally Posted By: asharris7
Everyone talks about "burping" the coolant. What's that?