Amsoil's 5W-40 European Oil (EFM) for a BMW 328xi

Status
Not open for further replies.
Amsoil's Product Lookup Guide shows the 5W-40 (EFM) as their only oil for a 2011 BMW 328xi. I sent a question to Amsoil because the BMW oil for this car is 5W-30. Amsoil's response is "You will want to use the AMSOIL 5w-40 European Oil (EFM) for this BMW 328xi vehicle. This oil falls within the accepted viscosities that BMW allows for this vehicle and also meets the LL-01 spec requirement that they call for." In addition the Amsoil 5W-40 oil is a Full SAP oil. I have been running Amsoil for over 15 years in my other vehicles and I am very pleased with it. This is my first BMW and want to make sure this is a good oil to use.
I would appreciate any thoughts. Thanks

The SAE viscosity grade doesn't matter too much. What matters is that the oil meets the BMW LL-01 spec.

For the record, that Amsoil oil doesn't officially meet BMW LL-01 spec. It is only "recommended for". For some people it's good enough. Others worry that BMW could give you a hassle should you ever had an engine lubrication warranty claim. And if BMW refuses to step in, then the assumption is that Amsoil would.

I think Amsoil is in the process of having some of their Euro oils officially certified. Not sure if or when this particular oil will be.

You are proposing using an unapproved oil for your application, one in which oil issues are a proven concern, The path of least resitance is to use one of the superb LL01 products from Mobil or Castrol or others.

Originally Posted By: Dave13