Recent Topics
DELO 5W40 Synthetic UOA ?
by alanwayne1908
07/28/16 05:03 PM
DELO 5W40 Synthetic
by alanwayne1908
07/28/16 05:01 PM
93 J30t...worth it or not?
by Lolvoguy
07/28/16 04:56 PM
Chevron Supreme $2.29 Fred Meyer
by sprite1741
07/28/16 04:37 PM
Would you let a teenager house sit?
by VeeDubb
07/28/16 04:32 PM
FYI Dollar General has windshield fluid for $1 gal
by Rat407
07/28/16 03:54 PM
Got my Micro Green oil filter in from the 50% sale
by PolarisX
07/28/16 03:45 PM
Oil for Generator After Breakin
by Oli20
07/28/16 02:31 PM
Muskmelon
by Pop_Rivit
07/28/16 02:14 PM
Why do HDEO's have more anti wear additives?
by FordCapriDriver
07/28/16 02:02 PM
My ford buddy and my final though about Motorcraft
by MetalSlug
07/28/16 01:58 PM
Walmart Canada sale PYB, GTX and Edge Black bottle
by Tech819
07/28/16 12:47 PM
Newest Members
_hashtagusername, larrybroad123, dr_p, CapHead, rowebil
58632 Registered Users
Who's Online
90 registered (another Todd, Alex_V, 69GTX, alanwayne1908, 2015_PSD, 10 invisible), 2034 Guests and 10 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
58632 Members
66 Forums
252364 Topics
4139200 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3430284 - 07/20/14 02:38 PM GM Passkey III didn't require programing?
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3824
Loc: Kuwait
So I lost the master key for my Envoy, so I got a new fob and coded key from the dealer. They asked me to come back tomorrow for programming, so I figured I'd do it myself.

I put the new uncoded key in the ignition and turned it on - five seconds later the security light went off. I cranked the engine and it fired right up! I tried the 2nd memory key and it fired right up. Am I missing something here?
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/FL820S
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/FL820S
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/M1206

Top
#3430325 - 07/20/14 03:25 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 14046
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Try leaving the Master in the house and try it.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3430331 - 07/20/14 03:39 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29460
Loc: ME
Maybe someone put in a remote starter and it has a bypass module you don't know about. Did you get it new?

Top
#3430345 - 07/20/14 03:56 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3824
Loc: Kuwait
Trav - same thing. shrug

I bought it off the original owner who never changed/added anything.

Based on what I've read, it appears I have a Pass-Lock system, which to my understanding is different than Pass-Key. To my understanding, there is no chip in the key - which explains why it cost $10 for a Genuine GM key vs. $30 for my Ford PATS key - the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/FL820S
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/FL820S
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/M1206

Top
#3430360 - 07/20/14 04:15 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6717
Loc: Phoenix
Passlock just checks to make sure there is a key in the cylinder, passkey III has a transponder chip in the head of the key and requires programming. Is there any marking on the blade of the key such as PK3 or a circle with a + in the center?

Top
#3430370 - 07/20/14 04:26 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3824
Loc: Kuwait
No markings on the key.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/FL820S
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/FL820S
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/M1206

Top
#3430422 - 07/20/14 05:36 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6717
Loc: Phoenix
No marking on the key means it is a Passlock system, no programming necessary.

Top
#3430606 - 07/20/14 08:34 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2500
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.


So what exactly is this system supposed to prevent? Hot wiring can still be done - just put any old key in there....

Top
#3430672 - 07/20/14 09:13 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
George7941 Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 1765
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.
_________________________
2006 GMC Sierra 4.3l, NV3500,G80 , Formula Shell Synthetic 5W30,Dexcool.
1987 BMW R80 - sold
2015 Honda CBR300R

Staying out of the right lane a lot.

Top
#3430838 - 07/21/14 06:15 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29460
Loc: ME
^ yup that.

Deliberately confusing terminology on GMs part. But, they still get credit for putting passlock on the cheaper cars-- it still deters theft.

Top
#3430862 - 07/21/14 07:04 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: George7941]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2500
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: George7941
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.


That makes better sense. Thanks.

Top