Recent Topics
ACDelco X66P
by OldEuroCarLover
Today at 12:07 AM
FL910S C&P, 4,000 miles
by cb4017
Today at 12:02 AM
Mobil 1 Full Synthetic $3.99 AR Menards
by John_K
Yesterday at 10:32 PM
Causes of steering wheel shudder
by buck91
Yesterday at 10:14 PM
Brand new Focus ST...
by Striker
Yesterday at 09:55 PM
Chevy Volt bad idea for BITOG members!
by kohnen
Yesterday at 09:22 PM
Looking for oil suggestion Chevy Express 3500 6.0L
by Goofball1205
Yesterday at 08:38 PM
What ATF? 2004 Toyota Sequoia 4WD
by ShadowSix
Yesterday at 08:35 PM
Tundra steering wheel
by RN89
Yesterday at 08:11 PM
98-02 Corolla and Oil Consumption
by mmorri16
Yesterday at 08:10 PM
How does fuel dilution affect HTHS viscosity?
by HKPolice
Yesterday at 07:58 PM
Volkswagen bets big on EV(Electric Vehicle)
by HTSS_TR
Yesterday at 07:50 PM
Newest Members
sledhead1, AtillatheHunk, Goofball1205, Djlmedic, BigHoss256
58926 Registered Users
Who's Online
52 registered (Astro_Guy, Bighorn2500, Bear, Alex_V, 2015_PSD, beanoil, 5 invisible), 915 Guests and 38 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
58926 Members
66 Forums
253568 Topics
4162455 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3430284 - 07/20/14 02:38 PM GM Passkey III didn't require programing?
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3844
Loc: Kuwait
So I lost the master key for my Envoy, so I got a new fob and coded key from the dealer. They asked me to come back tomorrow for programming, so I figured I'd do it myself.

I put the new uncoded key in the ignition and turned it on - five seconds later the security light went off. I cranked the engine and it fired right up! I tried the 2nd memory key and it fired right up. Am I missing something here?
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430325 - 07/20/14 03:25 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 14204
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Try leaving the Master in the house and try it.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3430331 - 07/20/14 03:39 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29573
Loc: ME
Maybe someone put in a remote starter and it has a bypass module you don't know about. Did you get it new?

Top
#3430345 - 07/20/14 03:56 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3844
Loc: Kuwait
Trav - same thing. shrug

I bought it off the original owner who never changed/added anything.

Based on what I've read, it appears I have a Pass-Lock system, which to my understanding is different than Pass-Key. To my understanding, there is no chip in the key - which explains why it cost $10 for a Genuine GM key vs. $30 for my Ford PATS key - the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430360 - 07/20/14 04:15 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6770
Loc: Phoenix
Passlock just checks to make sure there is a key in the cylinder, passkey III has a transponder chip in the head of the key and requires programming. Is there any marking on the blade of the key such as PK3 or a circle with a + in the center?

Top
#3430370 - 07/20/14 04:26 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3844
Loc: Kuwait
No markings on the key.
_________________________
99 Explorer EB: GC 0W40/FL1A
00 Pajero: Aisin PAO/Ester 5W40/MD352626
01 Marquis: GC 0W40/51372XP
03 Expedition: M1 0W40/51372XP
05 Envoy: GC 0W40/51522XP

Top
#3430422 - 07/20/14 05:36 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 6770
Loc: Phoenix
No marking on the key means it is a Passlock system, no programming necessary.

Top
#3430606 - 07/20/14 08:34 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2523
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.


So what exactly is this system supposed to prevent? Hot wiring can still be done - just put any old key in there....

Top
#3430672 - 07/20/14 09:13 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
George7941 Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 1788
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.
_________________________
2006 GMC Sierra 4.3l, NV3500,G80 , Formula Shell Synthetic 5W30,Dexcool.
1987 BMW R80 - sold
2015 Honda CBR300R

Staying out of the right lane a lot.

Top
#3430838 - 07/21/14 06:15 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29573
Loc: ME
^ yup that.

Deliberately confusing terminology on GMs part. But, they still get credit for putting passlock on the cheaper cars-- it still deters theft.

Top
#3430862 - 07/21/14 07:04 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: George7941]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 2523
Loc: Somewhere
Originally Posted By: George7941
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.


That makes better sense. Thanks.

Top