Pennzoil Q&A

Click here to participate in the Pennzoil Q&A

Recent Topics
Help me PREVENT rust in this wheel well..
by SumpChump
08/31/15 09:32 AM
AGM Battery Replacement
by dave180
08/31/15 07:59 AM
Internet TV options
by stockrex
08/31/15 07:43 AM
Exhasut Flange Fasteners
by artbuc
08/31/15 06:59 AM
Serious oil burn and bad smell problem :(
by Dogan
08/31/15 06:20 AM
What's up with Google?
by BRZED
08/31/15 05:59 AM
Forum being glitchy
by ARB1977
08/31/15 05:55 AM
Which oil Kia Optima
by sshazam
08/31/15 05:52 AM
WSS-M2C946-A vs. dexos1, what are the differences?
by Egg_Head
08/31/15 05:43 AM
Oil for Toyota 4Y Engine
by Farmer
08/31/15 01:06 AM
Best Synthetic Oils for my New and Old Subarus?
by Jack_Kieran
08/31/15 12:10 AM
Low fat vs. Regular milk, big difference?
by daves66nova
08/30/15 11:27 PM
Newest Members
sshazam, KC10SteveQ, V10magnum, Daniml, robtimm
55202 Registered Users
Who's Online
99 registered (440Magnum, 97f150, aircooled, adamrc, A_Harman, Andrei, 7 invisible), 1766 Guests and 149 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
55202 Members
66 Forums
236724 Topics
3814437 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3430284 - 07/20/14 02:38 PM GM Passkey III didn't require programing?
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
So I lost the master key for my Envoy, so I got a new fob and coded key from the dealer. They asked me to come back tomorrow for programming, so I figured I'd do it myself.

I put the new uncoded key in the ignition and turned it on - five seconds later the security light went off. I cranked the engine and it fired right up! I tried the 2nd memory key and it fired right up. Am I missing something here?
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430325 - 07/20/14 03:25 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 12242
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Try leaving the Master in the house and try it.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3430331 - 07/20/14 03:39 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Online   content


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 26908
Loc: ME
Maybe someone put in a remote starter and it has a bypass module you don't know about. Did you get it new?

Top
#3430345 - 07/20/14 03:56 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
Trav - same thing. shrug

I bought it off the original owner who never changed/added anything.

Based on what I've read, it appears I have a Pass-Lock system, which to my understanding is different than Pass-Key. To my understanding, there is no chip in the key - which explains why it cost $10 for a Genuine GM key vs. $30 for my Ford PATS key - the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430360 - 07/20/14 04:15 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 4732
Loc: Phoenix
Passlock just checks to make sure there is a key in the cylinder, passkey III has a transponder chip in the head of the key and requires programming. Is there any marking on the blade of the key such as PK3 or a circle with a + in the center?

Top
#3430370 - 07/20/14 04:26 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
No markings on the key.
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430422 - 07/20/14 05:36 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 4732
Loc: Phoenix
No marking on the key means it is a Passlock system, no programming necessary.

Top
#3430606 - 07/20/14 08:34 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
itguy08 Online   content


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 1896
Loc: Central PA
Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.


So what exactly is this system supposed to prevent? Hot wiring can still be done - just put any old key in there....

Top
#3430672 - 07/20/14 09:13 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
George7941 Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 1589
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.
_________________________
2006 GMC Sierra 4.3l, NV3500,G80 locker rear, Formula Shell Synthetic 5W30, Wix 51036, Dexcool.
1987 BMW R80

Staying out of the right lane a lot.

Top
#3430838 - 07/21/14 06:15 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Online   content


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 26908
Loc: ME
^ yup that.

Deliberately confusing terminology on GMs part. But, they still get credit for putting passlock on the cheaper cars-- it still deters theft.

Top
#3430862 - 07/21/14 07:04 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: George7941]
itguy08 Online   content


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 1896
Loc: Central PA
Originally Posted By: George7941
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.


That makes better sense. Thanks.

Top