Linux disk benchmark utility?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a linux newbie, so please bear with me. So far, everything I'm finding isn't very user friendly and requires executing a bunch of CLI commands. I guess that's the beauty of linux, but isn't there some simple GUI-driven user-friendly app for linux (ubuntu) that can do what CrystalDiskMark or ATTO can do in Windows?

Thanks!

Thanks. From the links you provided, only Iozone and Bonnie do disk benchmarking, but they don't have a GUI.

Will try to run Bonnie from CLI now.

Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
hdparm is CLI but pretty easy to use

Is it basically the hdparm -t command or can it do more elaborate benchmarking stuff?
smile.gif

Also, Ubuntu 14.04 has this built in "Disks" utility, and under there, there is a "Benchmark" option, but every time I try to run it, it tells me "Error unmounting filesystem".

Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete
Also, Ubuntu 14.04 has this built in "Disks" utility, and under there, there is a "Benchmark" option, but every time I try to run it, it tells me "Error unmounting filesystem".

You cannot unmount the filesystem you're logged into. Try it from live media.

Originally Posted By: uc50ic4more
You cannot unmount the filesystem you're logged into. Try it from live media.

Thanks! It worked!
smile.gif

Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
hdparm is CLI but pretty easy to use

Is it basically the hdparm -t command or can it do more elaborate benchmarking stuff?
smile.gif

It is a robust application; the only benchmarking application I have any experience with.

The MAN pages: http://unixhelp.ed.ac.uk/CGI/man-cgi?hdparm

thumbsup2.gif