So THAT'S why there's a wobble

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: CapriRacer
Originally Posted By: Darris
The tire looks indented and shaved down in the middle - I thought that was usually from over inflation?? Although the outer blocks aren't exactly in good shape either... I wouldn't think 36psi is nearly enough of a deviation to account for that kind of wear though.

The Insignia was a very weak tire near the bottom of Bridgestone's line up and supplied as the factory fit on the base Corolla for a number of years. I would not judge any tire manufacturer based on a product for such an application.

I hope Darris won't think I am picking on him ....

And I would also caution making an assessment of inflation pressure based on wear. As a tire designer, I could alter the wear by changing the shape of the belts - and sometimes we would deliberately change it to improve rolling resistance, knowing that we were hurting wear. In other words, do NOT assume that center wear is caused just be inflation pressure.

No, not taken personlly at all. I'll buy that form you as factual information.

But at the same time its kind of worrisome that you can't take for granted the observations which have been taught to lay people for years in car magazines and tire dealer websites (such as center wear=overinflation, shoulder wear=underinflation, random wear spots=alignment and so on.) I just assumed that engineers across the industry would agree to use models which resulted in wear symptoms presenting in ways consumers could become accustomed to identifying.

Originally Posted By: Astro14
Originally Posted By: CapriRacer