Airventure 2014 Oshkosh WI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any aviation buffs heading to Oshkosh the end of July to early August? All the info is on the EAA website. I'll be there at least a few days, I have the 1st days off so far.

The opening entertainer this year is 'Kenny Loggins' on July 28th. I live fairly close, so it's easy to get there.

https://www.eaa.org/en/airventure

I will be there! One of my favorite events. I am a private pilot, so it kinda makes sense hahaha.

Never gone. It's tempting, but we have the Air & Water Show here which offers a lot of the same stuff for free.

I went in 2000 and 2001 "working" for Civil Air Patrol. It was pretty cool to do all the air marshaling. One of the jobs we had was writing down the tail numbers of every plane that landed, that was fun.

Dparm, since you are near Chicago it's an easy day trip, long day. I hardly go for any of the flying air show, I do turn my head when something catches my eye or ear.

I like the forums, commercial exhibits, seminars, and the overall environment. I'm wondering if I should Spring for an upper end noise canceling headset. The one's I'm looking at are the Bose A20 or that new AV-100, I think it's called.

I have a Piper Warrior that I plan to keep until our 10 y/o is through his formative years. He may want to learn to slip the bonds of earth someday.

Mr_Joe, when I was at Airventure last year, I tried every headset (except for the AKG AV-100, it wasn't out yet.) and concluded that I liked the Sennheiser S1 the best.

The AKG looks very promising though, I'll be trying it this year.

The reason I go to Airventure is not the airshows (though they are great), but because of the people and atmosphere.
I always volunteer some of my time as a departure briefer as well, I find it quite interesting.