Adding moly to firearms lube?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Most oils for firearms seem to be strait mineral oil. It seems to me it would be beneficial to possibly add some moly to it?

I'm new to firearms. The gun oil and care market is more confused than even the automotive market. It would seem beneficial to have some form of anti wear additive in the oil.

Just pick something out that looks good and use it. You can use motor oil if you want. It really doesn't matter very much.

You can buy small containers of assembly lube containing high concentration MoS2. I use a light smear on high load areas like locking lugs and frame rails. Be careful, the stuff will stain fabrics black.

Used to know a retired marine that used Mobil 1 15w50 racing oil for gun lube. He probably picked that idea (using motor oil) up in Nam since I have read about marines using diesel oil as gun lube back in the dark days before any sort of maintenance supplies were issued for the early M16's.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Robenstein
Used to know a retired marine that used Mobil 1 15w50 racing oil for gun lube. He probably picked that idea (using motor oil) up in Nam since I have read about marines using diesel oil as gun lube back in the dark days before any sort of maintenance supplies were issued for the early M16's.

hose em down with gasoline or fuel oil to clean them and pull the dipstick out of the nearest engine and use it as an oil applicator, works quick and easy. I've seen guys do this in the field dove hunting when you might shoot 4-500 rounds in a long day and a few goose hunters whose guns see a lot of dust/dirt during the day.

Originally Posted By: jkhawaii
Most oils for firearms seem to be strait mineral oil. It seems to me it would be beneficial to possibly add some moly to it?

Quality gun oils will be much more than just mineral oil. Moly is dirty and will stain just about anything.

If you can't find a gun oil you like, use a lite motor oil.