Recent Topics
Just an interesting question
by southernjeeper
05/26/16 01:52 AM
Value power Walmart battery acid flying out
by bbhero
05/26/16 12:44 AM
Leased 2013 Ford Suv With19,882 Miles Original Oil
by crazyoildude
05/25/16 10:35 PM
Steak-House Burgers
by sleddriver
05/25/16 09:53 PM
Got into an accident.
by bdcardinal
05/25/16 09:42 PM
Its coming here more and more
by CourierDriver
05/25/16 08:40 PM
Interpreting oil pressure vs engine RPM
by Emperors6
05/25/16 08:39 PM
$4 Fram Ultra - Blain's F&F
by Poohbah
05/25/16 08:21 PM
Toolbox - Pliers
by greasegunn
05/25/16 08:09 PM
ProSelect Oil Filter????
by qwerty1234
05/25/16 08:05 PM
Completing your 80% lower with a CNC Machine
by Merkava_4
05/25/16 07:33 PM
Motor oil Sale
by GuinnessGuy
05/25/16 07:26 PM
Newest Members
jerryg, 1971tr350, Mak712, Lex4TDI4Life, cdub76
57988 Registered Users
Who's Online
27 registered (asand1, Burt, Bandito440, Astro14, 4 invisible), 583 Guests and 283 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
57988 Members
66 Forums
249411 Topics
4082625 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3389226 - 06/04/14 11:17 PM Honda ATF temp via scan tool?
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: Arizona
I'd really like to have the ability to watch ATF temps in a 2013 Honda pickup. I know the data is there in the OBD II data, because there is a temp sensor in the tranny, and because Honda can monitor ATF temps with their dealer tools. I had hoped that the ScanGauge II would do it (the company is 'local' to me), but it will not on Hondas.

Do you know of any scan tools that an 'average joe' can afford that will display ATF temps in Hondas? Thanks.
_________________________
"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." --Gerald Ford

Top
#3389229 - 06/04/14 11:18 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2124
Loc: Tri States Little Italy
Torque pro should be able to do it
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
2012-2015

Top
#3389237 - 06/04/14 11:24 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: Arizona
Interesting, thanks. I do not personally own a cellular phone of any type, and my work one is a Blackberry. I have a personal Blackberry tablet. I'm thinking Torque PRO will not be an option for me(?)

I'll muck around their forum a bit.
_________________________
"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." --Gerald Ford

Top
#3389364 - 06/05/14 05:50 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Olas Offline


Registered: 12/11/13
Posts: 2538
Loc: Manchester, England
If a blackberry tablet will support Apps then you're done smile

If not, you need to buy a cheap smartphone that supports Apps, or get a multimeter and splice into the wires that connect to the sensor.

Chances are its a thermistor - once you know if its NTC or PTC you can watch the values on your meter and know how hot it is wink
_________________________
1982 VW Scirocco
1457cc
98 bhp
78000 miles
Redline fluids
Mann/Mahle filters

Top
#3389376 - 06/05/14 06:11 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 10299
Loc: NorthEast
Since this is not in the standard OBD-II PID, it is more likely that amateur scanners will NOT be able to get the transmission oil temperature. Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!

Now if somebody has reverse engineered the Honda scanner (HDS) and found the appropriate PID and managed to convince TorquePro to include that in their software, it will get that temperature. I do not believe that has happened yet.

Top
#3389381 - 06/05/14 06:18 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
Olas Offline


Registered: 12/11/13
Posts: 2538
Loc: Manchester, England
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Since this is not in the standard OBD-II PID, it is more likely that amateur scanners will NOT be able to get the transmission oil temperature. Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!

Now if somebody has reverse engineered the Honda scanner (HDS) and found the appropriate PID and managed to convince TorquePro to include that in their software, it will get that temperature. I do not believe that has happened yet.


Probably true..
All the more reason to find out the specs of the sensor and splice your multimeter into the wires. You'd be surprised how quickly you learn to convert Ohms to Degrees C.
_________________________
1982 VW Scirocco
1457cc
98 bhp
78000 miles
Redline fluids
Mann/Mahle filters

Top
#3389383 - 06/05/14 06:23 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 13782
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Originally Posted By: bulwnkl
I'd really like to have the ability to watch ATF temps in a 2013 Honda pickup. I know the data is there in the OBD II data, because there is a temp sensor in the tranny, and because Honda can monitor ATF temps with their dealer tools. I had hoped that the ScanGauge II would do it (the company is 'local' to me), but it will not on Hondas.

Do you know of any scan tools that an 'average joe' can afford that will display ATF temps in Hondas? Thanks.


I have scan tools that give me this info but they are not cheap. The best and cheapest thing to use is a add on gauge.
On the Honda an in-line electric sending unit will work fine. You could even do a 2 or 3 gauge pod and add engine oil temp and pressure.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3389446 - 06/05/14 07:45 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
supton Offline


Registered: 11/09/08
Posts: 8270
Loc: NH
Scanguage do the trick? Found this thread:
http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45402
and it indicates that SG will read trans temp.

Looks like the temp sensor wiring is easy to get to:
http://www.hondapartscheap.com/honda/rid...temperature-atf
Part #14.
_________________________
2011 Toyota Camry, base, 6spd manual, 113k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra double cab, 4.6L, auto, 122k, his

Top
#3389805 - 06/05/14 02:01 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Hokiefyd Offline


Registered: 06/24/04
Posts: 13736
Loc: North Carolina
On both of our Hondas, Torque Pro displays the "transmission fluid temperature", but it's simply a mirror of the "engine coolant temperature". It looks like you can program a custom PID into a ScanGauge; that's neat. I don't think you can do this with Torque Pro.
_________________________
Cheers,
Jason

2009 Honda Ridgeline RTL
2005 Acura MDX Touring

Top
#3389888 - 06/05/14 03:43 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: Arizona
The BB Playbook will run most all Android apps. That's why Google no longer lets you download apps from websites; only from them and only if you have a registered android phone. wink

That ROC thread is interesting. My search there missed it, and my live-person phone call to Linear Logic yesterday conflicted with what that person has. I'll have to give LL another call.

On a related note, I know where the factory ATF temp sensor is, and I know what 'normal operating temp' should be, voltage-wise. What I don't know is what temp is 'normal' to Honda's FSM writers. smile The range of voltage the FSM says the sending unit should show me is 0.2 - 4.0 V, with 'normal operating temp' at 1.8 V. Any thoughts as to whether this general info is likely compatible with aftermarket gauges, such as Autometers?

Thanks for the help everyone!
_________________________
"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." --Gerald Ford

Top
#3390011 - 06/05/14 05:41 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 10299
Loc: NorthEast
Isn't there an external thermocouple which you can hook up to the transmission case to get an idea about the fluid temperature? It would be lot simpler to do that way rather than splicing in to factory internal temperature sensor.

Top
#3390069 - 06/05/14 07:14 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
bulwnkl Offline


Registered: 02/09/05
Posts: 1525
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Isn't there an external thermocouple which you can hook up to the transmission case to get an idea about the fluid temperature? It would be lot simpler to do that way rather than splicing in to factory internal temperature sensor.


The factory sensor is easy to access, and the wiring would be super-simple; just 2 posi-taps and done.

I've considered an external thermocouple. What's the correlation between external case temp and sump or internal temp in any particular area? IME external pan temps aren't that tightly correlated with bulk or specific-area internal temps on engines. Not so sure about A/Ts.
_________________________
"A government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have." --Gerald Ford

Top
#3390237 - 06/05/14 10:58 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2124
Loc: Tri States Little Italy
Originally Posted By: Vikas
Despite being the name "Pro" in the title, TorquePro is not a professional scanner!
Oh do hold up!


It's not perfect, But it's damm close to a multiple thousand dollar SnapOn and Autel scan tools. And if you have a Ford, FORScan is really close to a IDS.

It's Pro, for $25.
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
2012-2015

Top
#3390419 - 06/06/14 07:13 AM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: bulwnkl]
Vikas Offline


Registered: 07/22/05
Posts: 10299
Loc: NorthEast
I (niether should you) don't expect a $4.95 scanner to substitute $5000 scanner (and annual fee of $5000 to go with it). Granted, that $4.95 scanner does beat all of the other $495 scanners in the market.

And that is NOT a slam on Ian or Torque Pro; it is the best option for us aka non-professionals.

I was not aware of the FORScan. Are there other add-ons for other manufacturers aka HDS/Techstream emulations?

Top
#3391128 - 06/06/14 10:04 PM Re: Honda ATF temp via scan tool? [Re: Vikas]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 2124
Loc: Tri States Little Italy
Understood......
I'd get a Maxidas if I could score the cheap $250 eBay ones

FORScan is a CANBUS FoMoCo exclusive only, there's some support for hybrids, Jag, LR, Mazda etc.....

For Honda's I don't have a solution
There's some knockoff Techstreams on eBay that kinda work, I've gotta get me one.

I hear highly of AutoEnginuity, but $.
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
2012-2015

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >