My Yamaha Raptor 350 and my V-Star 650: oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Riding season has begun already but I've not had time to ride until now; just finished my freshman year of college (and I'm happy to be home for the summer, lol). But, I want to change the oil in my bike and atv before riding, as they are both due, however, I have seen many different opinions about motorcycle/atv oil... Mainly, the JASO MA certification to verify wet clutch safe. First, let me tell you this - if money were of no concern, I'd head out to my nearest Yamaha dealer and buy Yamalube and have no worries about anything, but I have to be thrifty with my cash (since I'm a college student, I'll need to be saving money whenever I can).

To the main question here... Some members say that JASO is not important, just go choose an oil that does not say "energy conserving" - but others swear by making sure it's JASO certified or else you can say goodbye to your clutch (regarding shared sump bikes/atv's). I know that Rotella just recently got a JASO cert, and I would not hesitate to throw it in my Raptor, but I just feel like my V-Star would be better off with an oil that was made for motorcycles.

Can you help me ease my mind about choosing a good oil, while not breaking the bank?

~ Triton

You can use Rotella with confidence in your v-star. I use it in my Honda vfr800 interceptor(12k RPM redline), which probably has 2x the specific output of your v-star, and I haven't hurt anything yet.

About $13 a gallon for the 15w-40 conventional or $22 for T6 5w-40 syn. I've got the T6 in there right now for those cold South Carolina mornings.

Rotella 15w40 will work well for both. If you do a lot of in town riding in the V star you can use the valvoline conventional 20w50 motorcycle oil. That is what my friend used in his Vstar 650 in the summer and in cooler months he would use 15w40 rotella.