Best First Motorcycle: How Much Is Too Much Bike??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am taking the MSF course soon and hopefully earning my MC license. I have no experience with riding other than on a bicycle. So that leads me to my question: how much bike is too much bike for a new rider?

I've narrowed down to two bikes I really like:

CBR250R ABS: http://powersports.honda.com/2013/cbr250r.aspx

CB500F ABS: http://powersports.honda.com/2014/cb500f.aspx

The 250 is less expensive and lighter, but has very limited power and can struggle on the highway. The 500 is somewhat more expensive and much more heavy, but has the power needed for highway use, and is geared toward torque, not crazy acceleration.

I would hate to buy the 250 and then realize it's not enough bike for longer term ownership. And I really love the 500F styling. On the other hand, I worry the 500 is too much bike too soon for someone so green. But I have read that the 500 is still considered a starter bike even though it's well over the 250 mark.

So, what should a newbie pursue... the 250R or 500F?

I know its not on the list, but the Kawasaki 300 Ninja would give you the benefit of a 250 in weight, but with added power. They are much quicker than the Honda 250.

If you must go Honda and plan to keep the bike for some time, you may want to go with the Honda 500. See how comfy you are on your MSF course bike first though. I rode a 250cc Yamaha for 3 years before going up to my current 865cc Triumph

I'd like to stick with an ABS bike through Honda if possible. Honda's website indicates they are releasing a CBR300R ABS this summer. Might that bike be a better fit than a 250R or 500F?

Go with the 500. I started out on a Suzuki GS500F and can manage fine on the interstate (up to 85mph cruising).

I did my MSF last fall and can get at least a year out of this 500 but I've tasted the nectar of the literbike and want to upgrade next year.