Recent Topics
Will finding matching headlights and turn signals
by MalfunctionProne
Today at 06:21 AM
Water Pump RTV
by supercity
Today at 06:21 AM
Quick way to find if a song/album is explicit?
by horse123
Today at 05:21 AM
Advance Auto Oil Specials Jan 29-Feb 25 2015
by sopususer
Today at 04:58 AM
What Years Are Affected With Those Bad Air Bags?
by crazyoildude
Yesterday at 11:33 PM
2014 Mazda 3 - Factory Fill, 8145km
by unknown
Yesterday at 11:21 PM
Pushing a clutch slave rod back into the cylinder
by rationull
Yesterday at 11:07 PM
I'm streaming Mass Effect
by Nick R
Yesterday at 11:00 PM
Second World War 'Black Devils'
by OVERKILL
Yesterday at 10:39 PM
Windshield washer fluid smells bad?
by Jimmy9190
Yesterday at 10:20 PM
Mixing Oil 5w20 5w30 10w30
by crazyoildude
Yesterday at 10:11 PM
Cheap, used 4x4 SUV.
by HM12460
Yesterday at 08:46 PM
Newest Members
stephen44, car20022004, just1n020, GTWBoss302, RapidRide2
52665 Registered Users
Who's Online
84 registered (97f150, b1amgm47, Andrei, A_Harman, 51Plymouth, 2010_FX4, 3 invisible), 1134 Guests and 169 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
52665 Members
66 Forums
225762 Topics
3592946 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3368578 - 05/11/14 02:02 PM Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission?
canadiantim Offline


Registered: 09/26/05
Posts: 62
Loc: Alberta, Canada
Have several of Ralph's converted MotorGuard Filters sitting around. These are the engine oil style with the external restrictor.

I have been wanting to add at least one of these to our 2004 Ford F-150 5.4l Auto transmission since we tow with the truck.

The cooler lines on the truck are slightly smaller than 3/8" so I'm debating installing 2 Motorguards in parallel without restrictors and running them as full flow in the cooler lines.

I know with the original 1/64" MotorGuard restrictor, I was measuring 1 quart per minute of engine oil through these filters at IDLE so without restrictors these units should flow lots of fluid.

So, other than eventually flow testing 2 of these in parallel, anyone have any thoughts or experience trying this?

Thanks

Top
#3369062 - 05/11/14 11:39 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
morris Offline


Registered: 08/24/08
Posts: 3681
Loc: ks, wichita
some auto transmissions use the cooled fluid going into the trans is used to lube the bearings. so my idea that restricting flow into the trans is NOT a good idea. i dont know if ford trans is like that, but my chrysler trans is. a good factory service manual should tell you what you need to know

Top
#3369066 - 05/11/14 11:48 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
handyman Offline


Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 276
Loc: TX
You don't need to use two of them. Gary Allen (RIP) suggested running one in parallel with the transmission hoses. That way there is no restricted flow.
_________________________
2011 Prius III 30k
2006 Senna LE 150k
2001 Saturn L100 160k
1993 Corolla LE 100k

Top
#3369070 - 05/11/14 11:59 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
handyman Offline


Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 276
Loc: TX
_________________________
2011 Prius III 30k
2006 Senna LE 150k
2001 Saturn L100 160k
1993 Corolla LE 100k

Top
#3369621 - 05/12/14 04:40 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
canadiantim Offline


Registered: 09/26/05
Posts: 62
Loc: Alberta, Canada
Thanks. I have them installed on our other cars in parallel to the cooler circuit like Gary suggests but since I have 3 spare complete units, I thought I'd just run them as full flow. I'm trying to maximize fluid capacity as well since it's a towing application.

This Ford truck has a factory thermostat between the trans and the coolers that maintains trans temps about 155F and it is viscosity based so I don't think a slight restriction in a cooler line would cause me any grief as there is always an open route back to the transmission.

I have enough Motorguards that I should be able to filter well with minimal restriction I think? I'm going to have to do some flow testing I think.

I have a factory service manual so good idea to have a look but not sure if the fluid path will be that obvious?

Top
#3372866 - 05/15/14 09:43 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
handyman Offline


Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 276
Loc: TX
Give Ralph Wood a call and talk with him about it. He loves to talk about bypass filters. His phone # is 940 442 9857
_________________________
2011 Prius III 30k
2006 Senna LE 150k
2001 Saturn L100 160k
1993 Corolla LE 100k

Top
#3372982 - 05/16/14 02:48 AM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
CDX825 Offline


Registered: 10/04/09
Posts: 123
Loc: Litchfield, Ohio
Anyone talked to Ralph lately?
_________________________
1984 Ford F250 6.9 Diesel C6 2WD Rotella T 15W40 NTZ Bypass Filter

1992 Ford F150 5.8 4x4 Rotella T5 10W30


Top
#3373806 - 05/17/14 12:50 AM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
handyman Offline


Registered: 02/15/05
Posts: 276
Loc: TX
I talked with him about three months ago. He's still kicking. He's like the rest of us -- getting older.
_________________________
2011 Prius III 30k
2006 Senna LE 150k
2001 Saturn L100 160k
1993 Corolla LE 100k

Top
#3375092 - 05/18/14 08:06 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
canadiantim Offline


Registered: 09/26/05
Posts: 62
Loc: Alberta, Canada
Thanks. Haven't spoke to Ralph in a few years but as soon as I thought about it, I realized Ralph would say "slower is better for filtration"...

So I think I'll just go the normal route and set one filter up as a bypass.

Top
#3378603 - 05/22/14 06:27 PM Re: Can MotorGuards run FULLFLOW for Transmission? [Re: canadiantim]
morris Offline


Registered: 08/24/08
Posts: 3681
Loc: ks, wichita
here is the latest info i have.
the old auto zone 2210 magenfine filter is no longer available at auto zone. BUT i did find the same thing as JX-160 brand-- ATP. at a real parts house uses 3/8" tube. ONLY use high pressure hose. SAE J1019 217 psi working. NOT fuel hose for a carb engine.

Top