Need help with Oil choice

Status
Not open for further replies.
1995 Honda accord. 232,000 miles. Only runs about 3000 miles every six months but they are all stop and go short trip hard miles. I've been changing the oil for several years with Syntec full synthetic every six months, pure one filter. Recently, I had scratches in the cam and it was getting worse. So I, myself changed the cam (used), rockers (used), timing belt (it was close to time to do it and it had to come off when the cam came out), balance belt, water pump, oil pump (it was suspect and 20 years old but it did pass spec), all the seals along the way, timing covers, and drive belts.

While in there, I noticed a lot of varnish and even a trace of sludge in a couple places. I've owned this car for 7 years and always used synthetic oil never going more than 5000 miles between changes even when it was driven 40,000 miles per year for awhile. I've used several different brands but syntec for the last four at least.

In my mind, the oil is somewhat suspect although people tell me the cam probably wasn't heat treated correctly. So, since the car isn't driven much AND because they are all hard miles:

Should I get better oil, do I NEED to get better oil? If so, which oil? It only takes four quarts, I'm not worried about paying for four quarts of even Redline every six months. Trust me, I just paid for $500 worth of Honda parts, I don't want to change the cam and rockers again. BTW, it's hard to believe because there is a well of oil under the cam and it gets dipped in oil the first rotation on start up.

And I have a 2000 legacy with 261,000 and it's driven about 20,000 miles per year. I use the same oil and filters. When I've had it apart there is no sludge and very little varnish. Maybe the oil pump was bad? I just think maybe I should get better oil for the Honda if I'm only going to change it every six months anyway.

Last edited:
Quote: