Chevron Lubricants Q&A

click here to participate in the Chevron Lubricants Q&A

Recent Topics
Pro Motive PH-2222 (CUT OPEN)
by car51
3 minutes 48 seconds ago
Service Pro #4622 2013 Versa ? Miles (CUT OPEN)
by car51
19 minutes 28 seconds ago
Win 8.1 question
by Donald
54 minutes 13 seconds ago
2005 Accord: Struts Needed...?
by Finz
Today at 01:38 PM
Walmart Penn Plat 5qt + Fram Ultra $20 AFTERREBATE
by zeddy
Today at 12:37 PM
Valvoline V0-105 (CUT OPEN), 8K~ 2013 Impala
by car51
Today at 11:40 AM
Best Filter Cost Is No Object?
by carock
Today at 11:22 AM
Factoy Ford EDGE filter 16k (CUT OPEN)
by car51
Today at 11:21 AM
Do you think this was harmful to my transmission
by Clubber_Lang
Today at 09:23 AM
Error message.
by OneEyeJack
Today at 09:20 AM
Old filter
by Broo
Today at 07:29 AM
DisService
by Eddie
Today at 07:26 AM
Newest Members
Okuru, JettyLife, Charlie2015, TCINWV, dgmwrx15
53717 Registered Users
Who's Online
81 registered (87sammy, AandPDan, 77GrandPrix, 94astro, 901Memphis, 2010_FX4, 7 invisible), 2117 Guests and 188 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
53717 Members
66 Forums
230305 Topics
3686506 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13
Topic Options
#3372052 - 05/14/14 11:12 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Rolla07 Offline


Registered: 11/05/11
Posts: 2128
Loc: MTL, CANADA
Not to say it wasnt a learning experience doing all the troubleshooting..but i think you spent well over 70$ of your time!
_________________________
2007 Corolla Red Pearl 125k miles
M1 EP 0w20 & TRD filter


Top
#3372066 - 05/14/14 11:28 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Blaze Offline


Registered: 12/31/10
Posts: 1103
Loc: Washington State (East)
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix


It does seem that sometimes if I reboot the modem it will start working for a few minutes, then die again. I'm suspecting the DSL modem might be getting flaky on me. It's not clear to me what exactly is going on yet.


Same problem problem I have had with CenturyLink the last 4 yrs. They send out a new modem and it seems to help for about a year. Same problem resurfaces then they send a new modem and about one yr later back to same problem...seems to be modem related for me.

Top
#3372511 - 05/15/14 01:24 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: Rolla07]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 8573
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: Rolla07
Not to say it wasnt a learning experience doing all the troubleshooting..but i think you spent well over 70$ of your time!


I like to dig in and test stuff, so it was a learning experience. And thanks to all who gave me insight and suggestions on the trouble-shooting.

Got the new modem yesterday, so will get that installed and tested out in the next few days. I did find out however that this new Actiontec GT784WN may not work with CenturyLink if they have switched over to "VDSL technology" on their DSL service in my neighborhood - supposedly the next step in technology after ADSL-2. I didn't find that out until after I ordered the modem. But I'm thinking since my 6+ year old modem still does work, that my IP hasn't went to the new VDSL technology yet ... will see.

Top
#3372514 - 05/15/14 01:30 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 28498
Loc: Ontario, Canada
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
#3372543 - 05/15/14 02:02 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: OVERKILL]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 8573
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.


CenturyLink never gave me a modem in the beginning - I bought the one I'm using now (the flaky one) from Best Buy years ago.

But I would expect that if CenturyLink was going to update their DSL technology to VDLS in my neighborhood they would have given me some kind of heads-up notice (?) ... I would hope so anyway.
_________________________
A filter's brand name doesn't matter ... what's inside does.

Top
#3372664 - 05/15/14 04:20 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 28498
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.


CenturyLink never gave me a modem in the beginning - I bought the one I'm using now (the flaky one) from Best Buy years ago.

But I would expect that if CenturyLink was going to update their DSL technology to VDLS in my neighborhood they would have given me some kind of heads-up notice (?) ... I would hope so anyway.


Yes. And the two technologies can co-exist BTW. a VDSL2 DSLAM/Remote can still provide ADSL2+.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
#3375162 - 05/18/14 09:31 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 8573
Loc: PNW
*** Update ***

Got the new Actiontec GT784WN DSL modem/router setup and working. Did some speedtest.net runs and it looks pretty good. Getting consistent 1.30Mbps download, 0.75Mbps upload with 55ms ping, which is about as fast as I'm going to see with the service/speed I pay for.

Modem seems to run barely warm, which is good. Will see if its performance stays consistent over long use periods, I'm betting it will.

Top
#3375174 - 05/18/14 09:44 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 1225
Loc: Detroit area
Sounds good so far... let us know how it goes!
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3375208 - 05/18/14 10:18 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
sleddriver Offline


Registered: 02/06/10
Posts: 2148
Loc: Central Texas
Here's to hoping your new M/R solves your problems!
Cheers2
_________________________
1998 Volvo V70 T5 200,771 mi. Original Owner.

Top
#3379680 - 05/23/14 11:21 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 1225
Loc: Detroit area
So, I'm assuming all is well now with the new modem?
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3379764 - 05/24/14 03:23 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ClutchDisc]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 8573
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: ClutchDisc
So, I'm assuming all is well now with the new modem?


Yes, everything seems to be back working well with a new modem. thumbsup I've ran speedtest.net many times since the new modem was installed, and it's always consistent at around 1.30 Mbps download, 0.80 Mbps upload and 55 ms ping. That's as good as I can expect with the service level I have.

Thanks to all who helped me out with the trouble-shooting. As the thread shows, it wasn't always black & white symptoms pointing to the modem being flaky.

Top
#3379812 - 05/24/14 07:24 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 1225
Loc: Detroit area
Great, glad I could help you out. smile
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3379936 - 05/24/14 11:19 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 28498
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Great to hear! smile
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13