Recent Topics
Consensus on Top 5 reasonably available filters
by circle1m
4 minutes 4 seconds ago
Motul 8100 Eco-nergy 5W30
by circle1m
10 minutes 42 seconds ago
2001 Impreza OBS, M1 5W30, 5k on oil, 159k on car
by kaesees
18 minutes 28 seconds ago
Rear Wheel Bearing Advice Wanted
by Sluggo0018
27 minutes 7 seconds ago
Wix vs Dealership OEM Oil Filters
by SwedishRider
27 minutes 29 seconds ago
What failed in this headlight?
by spavel6
Today at 01:34 PM
Tribology of a Driveline Material
by MolaKule
Today at 01:14 PM
Euro Pennzoil Platinum w/ PurePlus - 0W-40, 5W-30
by vinu_neuro
Today at 01:03 PM
2011 Acadia 3,6L DI ACDelco Dexos 5W-30
by rbarrios
Today at 01:03 PM
Do PureOne Filters have an Anti-Drain Back Valve??
by AdmiralYoda
Today at 12:55 PM
Price check on vintage mopar
by pacem
Today at 12:35 PM
DONE with Rockauto
by jrustles
Today at 12:04 PM
Newest Members
kaesees, bprat318, Winter_Texan, SloopJohnB, world123
50815 Registered Users
Who's Online
118 registered (AdmiralYoda, 05LGTLtd, 2009Edge, 2KBMW, aquariuscsm, 8 invisible), 1980 Guests and 229 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
50815 Members
64 Forums
217105 Topics
3418478 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13
Topic Options
#3372052 - 05/14/14 11:12 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Rolla07 Offline


Registered: 11/05/11
Posts: 1620
Loc: MTL, CANADA
Not to say it wasnt a learning experience doing all the troubleshooting..but i think you spent well over 70$ of your time!
_________________________
2007 Corolla Red Pearl 120,000 miles
M1 AFE 0W20 oil/ Fram TG filter
2001 Accent 126,000 miles
Motomaster Supreme/ Pure One filter



Top
#3372066 - 05/14/14 11:28 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
Blaze Offline


Registered: 12/31/10
Posts: 911
Loc: Washington State (East)
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix


It does seem that sometimes if I reboot the modem it will start working for a few minutes, then die again. I'm suspecting the DSL modem might be getting flaky on me. It's not clear to me what exactly is going on yet.


Same problem problem I have had with CenturyLink the last 4 yrs. They send out a new modem and it seems to help for about a year. Same problem resurfaces then they send a new modem and about one yr later back to same problem...seems to be modem related for me.

Top
#3372511 - 05/15/14 01:24 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: Rolla07]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 6753
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: Rolla07
Not to say it wasnt a learning experience doing all the troubleshooting..but i think you spent well over 70$ of your time!


I like to dig in and test stuff, so it was a learning experience. And thanks to all who gave me insight and suggestions on the trouble-shooting.

Got the new modem yesterday, so will get that installed and tested out in the next few days. I did find out however that this new Actiontec GT784WN may not work with CenturyLink if they have switched over to "VDSL technology" on their DSL service in my neighborhood - supposedly the next step in technology after ADSL-2. I didn't find that out until after I ordered the modem. But I'm thinking since my 6+ year old modem still does work, that my IP hasn't went to the new VDSL technology yet ... will see.

Top
#3372514 - 05/15/14 01:30 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25678
Loc: Ontario, Canada
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
#3372543 - 05/15/14 02:02 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: OVERKILL]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 6753
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.


CenturyLink never gave me a modem in the beginning - I bought the one I'm using now (the flaky one) from Best Buy years ago.

But I would expect that if CenturyLink was going to update their DSL technology to VDLS in my neighborhood they would have given me some kind of heads-up notice (?) ... I would hope so anyway.

Top
#3372664 - 05/15/14 04:20 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25678
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: ZeeOSix
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
That would be correct. If you were upgrade to VDSL2, you'd have been given a new modem as your old one is just ADSL2+.


CenturyLink never gave me a modem in the beginning - I bought the one I'm using now (the flaky one) from Best Buy years ago.

But I would expect that if CenturyLink was going to update their DSL technology to VDLS in my neighborhood they would have given me some kind of heads-up notice (?) ... I would hope so anyway.


Yes. And the two technologies can co-exist BTW. a VDSL2 DSLAM/Remote can still provide ADSL2+.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
#3375162 - 05/18/14 09:31 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 6753
Loc: PNW
*** Update ***

Got the new Actiontec GT784WN DSL modem/router setup and working. Did some speedtest.net runs and it looks pretty good. Getting consistent 1.30Mbps download, 0.75Mbps upload with 55ms ping, which is about as fast as I'm going to see with the service/speed I pay for.

Modem seems to run barely warm, which is good. Will see if its performance stays consistent over long use periods, I'm betting it will.

Top
#3375174 - 05/18/14 09:44 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 972
Loc: Detroit area
Sounds good so far... let us know how it goes!
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3375208 - 05/18/14 10:18 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
sleddriver Offline


Registered: 02/06/10
Posts: 1635
Loc: Central Texas
Here's to hoping your new M/R solves your problems!
Cheers2
_________________________
1998 Volvo V70 T5 200,771 mi. Original Owner.

Top
#3379680 - 05/23/14 11:21 PM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 972
Loc: Detroit area
So, I'm assuming all is well now with the new modem?
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3379764 - 05/24/14 03:23 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ClutchDisc]
ZeeOSix Offline


Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 6753
Loc: PNW
Originally Posted By: ClutchDisc
So, I'm assuming all is well now with the new modem?


Yes, everything seems to be back working well with a new modem. thumbsup I've ran speedtest.net many times since the new modem was installed, and it's always consistent at around 1.30 Mbps download, 0.80 Mbps upload and 55 ms ping. That's as good as I can expect with the service level I have.

Thanks to all who helped me out with the trouble-shooting. As the thread shows, it wasn't always black & white symptoms pointing to the modem being flaky.

Top
#3379812 - 05/24/14 07:24 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
ClutchDisc Offline


Registered: 11/23/12
Posts: 972
Loc: Detroit area
Great, glad I could help you out. smile
_________________________
2001 Chevy S-10 2.2L 5-speed manual - Valvoline Maxlife Full-syn 5w30

The box said: "Requires Windows XP or better."
So I installed Linux.

Top
#3379936 - 05/24/14 11:19 AM Re: Internet Service Problem or Not? [Re: ZeeOSix]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25678
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Great to hear! smile
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
Page 13 of 13 < 1 2 ... 11 12 13