0W20 Recommendation for 2012 ACCORD

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mazda's (Idemitsu) 0w-20 has 600 ppm of moly for extra protection. Most oils take a different approach, using between 0 to 300 ppm moly. It may be the old dimer moly (not the newer better trimer form, aka 'trinuclear moly'), but 600 ppm is a lot.

If Mazda's on-the-bottle claims are correct, the extra moly protects at startup and cold running when heat has not activated the ZDDP in the valvetrain and bearings.

Last edited:
After running them all, Id say VSP 0w20 - until I get some time with the new GTL Pennzoil stuff. Early SN QSUD and M1 were too dirty on the Subaru FB25 motor - which is now HARD on oil - constant sticking TC tensioners and heavy varnish in the fill tube and around the VCT housing - which is readily visible. I was impressed how clean the VSP 0w20 is keeping things over the other so called top pseudo-syns.

I have been using M1 0-20 in my Fords for several years now and my engines are like new clean through the oil fill hole. At 10K OCIs this oil works very well.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: kenpoed
excuse my ignorance, what is TGMO?
Toyota Genuine Motor Oil ... or it could mean Tightwads Got More Oil, not sure...

I would recommend Pennzoil Platinum 0w20 from Wally World. Especially with the rebate that is going on. It comes to about $1 per quart after rebate. It will keep your engine nice and clean. Just follow the Oil Life Monitor. No need to do a 6k OCI.

I have run a lot of different oils in my Hondas. I very much prefer the Pennzoil Platinum over everything I have used, IMHO.

I'd stick with an OEM 0W-20.
The reason being that they are generally much lighter on start-up even at room temperature, that the after-market offerings.

TGMO,MGMO, Mitsubishi 0W-20 and Honda 0W-20 in that order would be by recommendation.