New Dirt Scooter! 2007 YZ-250

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd been needing a newer dirt bike for a while, being that I've been riding a clapped-out 2001 YZ-250 for a few years now. No complaints with that bike other than the fact that the suspension is outdated, and would beat me to death on the gnarly, steep terrain that we like to ride. Never really considered having the suspension re-sprung and re-valved because I didn't want to sink any more $ into the bike.

I also have a 2002 YZ-250 that suffered a shattered piston skirt a few years ago, but that was my fault for running the cast aluminum piston for too long. And it happened right after I started the bike to ride it around my apartment complex to dry it after washing it. So, it could have ingested some water. BTW, I had previously sucked some water into the engine on a creek crossing, and had to push the bike to the other side, take air filter and spark plug out, turn it upside down, and rotate the back wheel with it in gear to pump the creek water out of the engine. And it started up like a charm after that! Pieces of the piston skirt knocked a hole in the case between the crankcase and the transmission, so I took the case and had the hole fixed (built up weld then machined it down). Got a new crankshaft and piston for it, and had the cylinder bore re-plated. Also had to get all new bearings for engine and tranny. I just haven't had a chance to get out in the garage to put it all together.

Anyway, my YZs have been rock-solid reliable, and I couldn't ignore that when deciding to get a newer bike. Thought about KTM, but they're more complex, and the 2006 + YZ has the Kayaba SSS suspension, which is supposed to be really good, even in stock form.