Simple safety lock for Fumoto valves

Status
Not open for further replies.
I purchased the hose clamp safety lock from Fumoto when I got the valve. It's a bear to get the hose clamp on or off with a pair of pliers. I found it was much easier to just use a small electrical tie wrap and snug it up in the slot just above the lever. You can thread the tie wrap before getting under the car and then just pull it into place once it is installed over the top of the valve. Cost, $3 per hundred oil changes.

valve_with_tie_wrap.JPG

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: zzyzzx
What's keeping that from falling off?

It's tightened into the groove for the lever. That isn't coming out without assistance from something sharp.

I have been using Fumoto valves for 25+ years. The "safety" issue is a non issue. In order for the lever to be tripped by accident, it would involve so much damage to the vehicle itself that it wouldn't matter anymore.

BTW - never a leak. I can do 10 minute oil changes with white gloves.

Technically, the tie rap is in a slot that is cut into 90 degrees of the valve body. This is the slot in which the lever travels.

Originally Posted By: Rand
its in a groove. look closer

Last edited:
In the heat here in Arizona, it's hard to keep zip ties alive for very long. Probably wouldn't last very long on a 200+ degree oil pan. I could be totally wrong.

I'd use a small hose clamp that can easily be taken off with a flathead screwdriver. They're like $2.99 for a 4 pack.

I've got Fumoto valves on both our vehicles. Nothing on either one as a safety precaution. Too many years to count and not one leak from either one and both are still functioning as if they were new.

Edit: Just have a Fumoto valve on the Xteraa since I sold the Jeep and replaced it with the Nissan Frontier. After my free oil changes are over on the Frontier, it will get a Fumoto valve as well.

Last edited by a moderator:
Originally Posted By: Mfrank84