40w to 30w

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi everyone i have been a visitor here for years interested in oil info.
i have been driving a diesel pu truck for around 25 years (dodge,ford,gm) and used xxx brand of 15w40 and tried 5w40 in the winter in new england.
currently i have a ford 2013 6.7 with 22000 miles bought new using a 15/40 now.
thinking of running delo xle 10w30 walmart started carrying, the truck is just a commuter for me no hauling. going to switch next oil change and send a sample to blackstone.
going to take the plung and switch to the 30w after all the years seams tuff lol.

thanks brian....

If the manual allows the HDEO 10w30 that meets the specs and you don't tow then it should be fine. Make sure any 10w30 you use meets warranty requirements.

Originally Posted By: dieselguy67
hi everyone i have been a visitor here for years interested in oil info.
i have been driving a diesel pu truck for around 25 years (dodge,ford,gm) and used xxx brand of 15w40 and tried 5w40 in the winter in new england.
currently i have a ford 2013 6.7 with 22000 miles bought new using a 15/40 now.
thinking of running delo xle 10w30 walmart started carrying, the truck is just a commuter for me no hauling. going to switch next oil change and send a sample to blackstone.
going to take the plung and switch to the 30w after all the years seams tuff lol.

thanks brian....

10w-30 is what ford specs now for non-towing situations. Must be nice to find the delo 10w-30. Ive been looking for it for a whole year now.
mad.gif

it just showed up last week, gallon jugs and quarts....
all so ford oil filters for the 6.7 diesel!

Originally Posted By: dieselguy67
it just showed up last week, gallon jugs and quarts....
all so ford oil filters for the 6.7 diesel!

Cool Ima keep looking! But your ford is spec'ed for 10w-30 if youre not towing or hauling. Im sure its a hard pill for you to swallow if youve been using a 15w-40. Id be freakin out a lil myself.