have I made a mistake using shell 10w30 ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last year I changed the oil in all our ope after one of the guys ran a cut off saw w/o oil and blew it up. I used formula shell 10w30 from the shop. Just recently we had another engine failure this one was full of oil, One of the mechanics stated it may have been from the oil I used. He says the detergents in standard oil foams in small engines w/o pressure lubrication and causes lack of lubrication. Is he right? Do I need to change all them to something else? For rference they're all honda gx series engines, mainly 160, 270, and 390 series

incorrect. I went to OPE school. "non-detergent" oil is VERY old-school. 10W-30 sounds correct for a Honda. did the rod snap? although personally I run a 15W-40... of course, I will add that I am not an OPE mechanic by trade... but I have certainly used 10W-30 and 10w-40 Shell in my Honda and Honda ATV

Last edited:
I say he is wrong. To my knowledge oil foaming in a small engine is due to the crankcase being over filled with oil, not the detergents. Foaming can cause lack of lubrication. Your engine failure was not due to using a 10w-30 oil, unless it was low on oil or overfilled. Which you indicate that it was "full of oil", but was it overfull? The failure may have been going to happen regardless of oil choice. Did the rod snap? What oil does that mechanic recommended for small engines?

Last edited:
He is pulling your leg. Tell him the stuff you buy uses detergent like Palmolive not the stuff with dawn type detergents in it.

Any oil can foam when it gets whipped up, pressure system or not if the oil doesn't have sufficient anti foaming agents.

BTW. Nothing wrong with the Rotella, its a good oil in small engines. Over filling can cause foaming as the other poster said.

Last edited: