GT Radial vs Falken Sincera

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
Well I have about 6 months to a year left on the Bridgestones my Camry came with. Have no idea about mileage on them, they ride ok - nothing out of the ordinary. The car has all new struts/ springs as well. I'm a college student and I'm not wanting to put anything fancy on this car, want to maintain it well but kind of run it into the ground, just drive it til it starts to die. I'm deciding between 2 tires for it from Discount Tire. The GT Radials (a friend has a pair, look like good tires) and the Falken Sinceras. I've had the car for 4.5 months and have put 6,000 miles on the car so about 16,000 miles per year (might increase a little bit). I drive in the city all week, in traffic and have some highway. Occasionally go on a road trip out of town as well. Now for the pricing which I will break down below:

GT Radials set of 4:
$44.00 each, out the door cost is $268.96
With road hazard certificates they're $302.54

Falken Sincera SN-828
$60.00 each, out the door cost is $339.55
With road hazard certificates they're $382.87

I'm leaning toward the GT Radials without certificates, in the unlikely event I get a nail in the sidewall, they're cheap enough to buy a new one I'm thinking.

What do you guys think?

At the very least please buy the Falkens if you can't afford tier 2 tires at this time. The GT tires are absolute garbage, I don't think they deserve to even be called tier 3 tires, they are something worse.

Tires are the single most important way you can affect the safety of your vehicle. Using only tier 1 or 2 tires, replacing them before they reach the wear bars, and keeping them properly inflated will do much more for your safety and wallet than replacing shocks and struts could ever do.

Originally Posted By: Cardenio327