Auto Hobby Shop Closed: Oil Change Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

gathermewool

Site Donor 2023
The short: The Auto Hobby Shop I do all of my maintenance at is closed and I have no idea when, if ever, it will reopen. I have a stash of oil and filters ready to use, but no where to change my wife's oil, which is currently as listed in my sig, with ~-1,200 miles on the MM (7-8k on oil, with recent top off of 3/4 quart.) My oil will be due in another 1.5k miles, as well.

I own a condo, which does not allow this kind of maintenance in the parking lot. I have friends whom I can ask to use their driveway in exchange for doing their oil change as well, but I'd rather not impose.

The other option is to have a shop do the oil change for me, using my oil and filter. I've never done this before, and don't really have a shop that I trust, since I do all of my own maintenance.

So, what do my fellow condo owners/renters think? All other options welcome, too.

The long:I have been changing my oil, doing brake and strut jobs, and various other mods/repairs that require or would benefit from a lift at the base Auto Hobby Shop for years now. Since I started doing my own maintenance there 5 or so years ago I've noted some pretty big changes in the negative direction: The workers (usually sailors on LIMDU, or limited duty) used to be knowledgeable guys who would happily help out in any way they could. One of my first experiences there involved a couple of really swell fellows who helped me with a really [censored] strut job (lots of rust, I lost my helper, and a lack of proper tools due to theft,) staying well past closing to complete the job and get me back on the road.