Recent Topics
Safe to Use Toyota Red or Pink in 1991 Ford F150?
by e55amgbenz007
39 minutes 15 seconds ago
Long trip, OLM on 55% change oil or not?
by donnyj08
54 minutes 19 seconds ago
'13 Ford Ecoboost 3.5L twin turbo 5w30 UOA's
by TurboFX
Today at 08:42 PM
How do you fix a broken door mirror?
by MalfunctionProne
Today at 08:02 PM
Changing the clutch in an ATV
by methusaleh
Today at 07:55 PM
1979 John Deere 210
by BigJohn
Today at 07:44 PM
Rigid Multi Tool Kit $25.88
by Warstud
Today at 07:33 PM
requesting an Oil analysis kit...curious on OCI
by stygz
Today at 07:18 PM
Orscheln + Valvoline SynPower
by Adamr955
Today at 07:13 PM
Peak Optix Wiper Blades...
by Warstud
Today at 07:05 PM
Odd noise.....brake related?
by wolfehunter
Today at 06:58 PM
Possible scam
by GreeCguy
Today at 06:38 PM
Newest Members
Mradley, dunni88, slapshot111, mike4230, TurboFX
52249 Registered Users
Who's Online
96 registered (ag_ghost, Alltherage, 1034, 74DartSport, 147_Grain, addyguy, 7 invisible), 1210 Guests and 190 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
52249 Members
66 Forums
223723 Topics
3547711 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3338164 - 04/09/14 08:35 PM Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo?
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
My eVGA X58 FTW motherboard suddenly refuses to POST.

I've tried everything: resetting the BIOS, disconnecting everything except the power and CPU, reseating the motherboard, reseating the CPU, reseating all cables. The only remaining steps are to try another motherboard or CPU.

Does anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or motherboard I could borrow? I'll gladly pay the shipping in both directions.

For reference, LGA1366 = socket B, which is X58 chips. Intel Core i7-9xx CPUs.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338171 - 04/09/14 08:38 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 1481
Loc: Staten Italy
I'd ring the eVGA tomorrow
See if they'd give a hand
You'd be surprised sometimes
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 51k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 48k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 48k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar 45k
©'12-'14

Top
#3338178 - 04/09/14 08:43 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: michaelluscher]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
I'd ring the eVGA tomorrow
See if they'd give a hand
You'd be surprised sometimes



It's out of warranty. There's nothing else to do other than swap mobos or CPUs, according to their support documents.

I suspect it's the motherboard. I plugged in my iPhone and it just froze, then refused to power back up. Sadly the LGA1366 is out of production so my only option would maybe be a new Supermicro board on Amazon for about $160. NewEgg, TigerDirect, and Frys/Outpost don't stock that socket anymore.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338254 - 04/09/14 10:37 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
901Memphis Offline


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 6356
Loc: Northern Kentucky
EBay for a 1366 board just be very picky about your seller choice. It's almost always the motherboard.

I've only encountered one dead cpu in my time repairing computers and it was a LGA 775 Pentium D on a Dell xp 600. No idea how that happened the heat sinks on xps are epic and over kill with tons of fan. No voltage options either so it wasn't abused.
_________________________
1999 Ford Taurus 146k (Vulcan v6) - M1 High Mileage 5w30 | Fram Ultra XG 3600
2002 Buick Century 105k - Peak 5w30 / Fram Ultra XG 3980 / Filter mag

Top
#3338263 - 04/09/14 10:47 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
bvance554 Offline


Registered: 09/24/12
Posts: 983
Loc: VA
You didn't mention the valve clearance. Have you checked that?

Top
#3338281 - 04/09/14 11:08 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
jrustles Offline


Registered: 02/24/13
Posts: 2035
Loc: Ontario, Canada
It's possible that the power supply took a poop, check em?
_________________________
"No matter how paranoid or conspiracy-minded you are, what the government is actually doing is worse than you imagine" W.Blum

Top
#3338289 - 04/09/14 11:21 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
Darwin1138 Offline


Registered: 01/07/14
Posts: 324
Loc: Mexico City
Have you tried to boot with another RAM stick, all failures to POST that I had were because of defective RAM,
_________________________
Self-Diagnosed Grumpy Old Crumudgeon

Top
#3338329 - 04/10/14 12:35 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
anonobomber Offline


Registered: 03/04/10
Posts: 96
Loc: WA
If any of the capacitors look like they're puking you could replace them if you can run a soldering iron with a new capacitor and have it fixed for about $5.

Top
#3338331 - 04/10/14 12:44 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
dave180 Offline


Registered: 11/01/13
Posts: 141
Loc: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Replace the battery, usually a CR2032 3v Lithium. Often overlooked, but usually the culprit in a failure to post.
_________________________
2014 Dodge Journey 3.6 (Pentastar)
2000 Ford Windstar SEL 3.8
2000 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8
2003 Nissan Altima 2.5

Top
#3338501 - 04/10/14 08:22 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dave180]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 26830
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: dave180
Replace the battery, usually a CR2032 3v Lithium. Often overlooked, but usually the culprit in a failure to post.


What?

Not in my experience. Yeah it'll wipe the BIOS settings every time it is turned off/on but it will still come on.

Of course moving the CMOS clear jumper to the clear position will stop it from posting however.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
06 Charger R/T

Top
#3338518 - 04/10/14 08:53 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: jrustles]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: jrustles
It's possible that the power supply took a poop, check em?


PSU is only about 6 months old and is a high-end Corsair. It's fine.


Originally Posted By: Darwin1138
Have you tried to boot with another RAM stick, all failures to POST that I had were because of defective RAM,


As I said, it won't do anything other than spin up the CPU fan (merely because it gets power). It won't even beep if I boot it with no RAM installed.


Originally Posted By: anonobomber
If any of the capacitors look like they're puking you could replace them if you can run a soldering iron with a new capacitor and have it fixed for about $5.


Inspected the caps, they're all fine.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338522 - 04/10/14 08:57 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: 901Memphis]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: 901Memphis
EBay for a 1366 board just be very picky about your seller choice. It's almost always the motherboard.



Not many choices out there. There are a handful that are still good but they're higher-end boards and people want $300+. The rest are broken.

For $300, I could get a really nice new Ivy Bridge motherboard. I could sell my i7-950 and use that cash plus a bit extra to buy a i4770. My RAM, SSD, etc would just carry over.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338556 - 04/10/14 09:26 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
Called eVGA. He agreed that the motherboard is probably dead (agreed that CPUs don't really fail) and said there's nothing else to test.

Welp, time to upgrade. Haswell, here I come!
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338573 - 04/10/14 09:46 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
Nick R Offline


Registered: 07/14/09
Posts: 10675
Loc: NEO
Mmmmm. Just because it's a high end corsair PSU doesn't mean it couldn't have died. I'd test it with another system first, just to be 100% sure.
_________________________
2013 Ford Focus SE 2.0L/40,000miles/Castrol Edge Syntec 0W-20/FRAM Ultra

Top
#3338689 - 04/10/14 11:43 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: Nick R]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12585
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: Nick R
Mmmmm. Just because it's a high end corsair PSU doesn't mean it couldn't have died. I'd test it with another system first, just to be 100% sure.



eVGA said if the PSU was faulty, it would present as different symptoms.

I agree that the PSU could've failed, but I checked the pins with my multimeter and all came back fine.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >