Recent Topics
Correct fit
by Kira
4 minutes 57 seconds ago
01 Chevy Prizm 1.8L 1FFZE, 5800mi, Mobil 5000 5w30
by Bulletbling
52 minutes 36 seconds ago
Any way to replace control arm bushing on the car?
by PandaBear
Today at 01:13 PM
2008 138k miles TaurusX-what to look for?
by havetoknow13
Today at 12:46 PM
MSDS sheet for Brian Enos Slide Glide anyone?
by steve40th
Today at 12:40 PM
Buying OEM Honda Rims
by Phishin
Today at 11:32 AM
Best way to get my CDL?
by actionstan
Today at 10:55 AM
Mityvac adapters
by supton
Today at 10:53 AM
mobil 1 0-30 vs 5-30 for chevy 2.2 l4
by datech
Today at 10:37 AM
Wire crimp tool
by supton
Today at 10:12 AM
VOA of Schaeffer's products(any other misc)?
by awitte58
Today at 09:53 AM
Wal-mart price change
by RGR
Today at 09:48 AM
Newest Members
havetoknow13, cjacobs18, Locopirate, Audley59, jpotter93
51048 Registered Users
Who's Online
112 registered (2009Edge, 97tbird, 901Memphis, abycat, 01_celica_gt, 6 invisible), 2128 Guests and 183 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
51048 Members
64 Forums
218146 Topics
3438931 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#3338164 - 04/09/14 08:35 PM Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo?
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
My eVGA X58 FTW motherboard suddenly refuses to POST.

I've tried everything: resetting the BIOS, disconnecting everything except the power and CPU, reseating the motherboard, reseating the CPU, reseating all cables. The only remaining steps are to try another motherboard or CPU.

Does anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or motherboard I could borrow? I'll gladly pay the shipping in both directions.

For reference, LGA1366 = socket B, which is X58 chips. Intel Core i7-9xx CPUs.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338171 - 04/09/14 08:38 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
michaelluscher Offline


Registered: 10/07/12
Posts: 1154
Loc: NYC
I'd ring the eVGA tomorrow
See if they'd give a hand
You'd be surprised sometimes
_________________________
'06 Toyota Camry SE V6 3MZ-FE 48k
'01 Mercury Villager Estate VG33E 45.5k
'06 Ford Taurus SE Vulcan 44k
'13 Chrysler 300 3.6 Pentastar FF 2.5k

Top
#3338178 - 04/09/14 08:43 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: michaelluscher]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: michaelluscher
I'd ring the eVGA tomorrow
See if they'd give a hand
You'd be surprised sometimes



It's out of warranty. There's nothing else to do other than swap mobos or CPUs, according to their support documents.

I suspect it's the motherboard. I plugged in my iPhone and it just froze, then refused to power back up. Sadly the LGA1366 is out of production so my only option would maybe be a new Supermicro board on Amazon for about $160. NewEgg, TigerDirect, and Frys/Outpost don't stock that socket anymore.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338254 - 04/09/14 10:37 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
901Memphis Online   content


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 5186
Loc: Northern Kentucky
EBay for a 1366 board just be very picky about your seller choice. It's almost always the motherboard.

I've only encountered one dead cpu in my time repairing computers and it was a LGA 775 Pentium D on a Dell xp 600. No idea how that happened the heat sinks on xps are epic and over kill with tons of fan. No voltage options either so it wasn't abused.
_________________________
1999 Ford Taurus 145k (Vulcan v6) - Mobil 1 High Mileage 5w30 | FL400S
2002 Buick Century 102k - PU 5w30 / Fram Ultra XG 3980 / Filter mag

Top
#3338263 - 04/09/14 10:47 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
bvance554 Offline


Registered: 09/24/12
Posts: 857
Loc: VA
You didn't mention the valve clearance. Have you checked that?

Top
#3338281 - 04/09/14 11:08 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
jrustles Online   content


Registered: 02/24/13
Posts: 1796
Loc: Ontario, Canada
It's possible that the power supply took a poop, check em?
_________________________
"Capitalism is the extraordinary belief that the nastiest of men for the nastiest of motives will somehow work for the benefit of all" J. M. Keynes

Top
#3338289 - 04/09/14 11:21 PM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
Darwin1138 Offline


Registered: 01/07/14
Posts: 206
Loc: Mexico City
Have you tried to boot with another RAM stick, all failures to POST that I had were because of defective RAM,
_________________________
Self-Diagnosed Grumpy Old Crumudgeon

Top
#3338329 - 04/10/14 12:35 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
anonobomber Offline


Registered: 03/04/10
Posts: 74
Loc: WA
If any of the capacitors look like they're puking you could replace them if you can run a soldering iron with a new capacitor and have it fixed for about $5.

Top
#3338331 - 04/10/14 12:44 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
dave180 Offline


Registered: 11/01/13
Posts: 138
Loc: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Replace the battery, usually a CR2032 3v Lithium. Often overlooked, but usually the culprit in a failure to post.
_________________________
2014 Dodge Journey 3.6 (Pentastar)
2000 Ford Windstar SEL 3.8
2000 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8
2003 Nissan Altima 2.5

Top
#3338501 - 04/10/14 08:22 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dave180]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 25865
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: dave180
Replace the battery, usually a CR2032 3v Lithium. Often overlooked, but usually the culprit in a failure to post.


What?

Not in my experience. Yeah it'll wipe the BIOS settings every time it is turned off/on but it will still come on.

Of course moving the CMOS clear jumper to the clear position will stop it from posting however.
_________________________
Network Engineer
02 Expedition
01 BMW ///M5
05 Forester XT

Top
#3338518 - 04/10/14 08:53 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: jrustles]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: jrustles
It's possible that the power supply took a poop, check em?


PSU is only about 6 months old and is a high-end Corsair. It's fine.


Originally Posted By: Darwin1138
Have you tried to boot with another RAM stick, all failures to POST that I had were because of defective RAM,


As I said, it won't do anything other than spin up the CPU fan (merely because it gets power). It won't even beep if I boot it with no RAM installed.


Originally Posted By: anonobomber
If any of the capacitors look like they're puking you could replace them if you can run a soldering iron with a new capacitor and have it fixed for about $5.


Inspected the caps, they're all fine.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338522 - 04/10/14 08:57 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: 901Memphis]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: 901Memphis
EBay for a 1366 board just be very picky about your seller choice. It's almost always the motherboard.



Not many choices out there. There are a handful that are still good but they're higher-end boards and people want $300+. The rest are broken.

For $300, I could get a really nice new Ivy Bridge motherboard. I could sell my i7-950 and use that cash plus a bit extra to buy a i4770. My RAM, SSD, etc would just carry over.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338556 - 04/10/14 09:26 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
Called eVGA. He agreed that the motherboard is probably dead (agreed that CPUs don't really fail) and said there's nothing else to test.

Welp, time to upgrade. Haswell, here I come!
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
#3338573 - 04/10/14 09:46 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: dparm]
Nick R Offline


Registered: 07/14/09
Posts: 10449
Loc: Amherst, OH
Mmmmm. Just because it's a high end corsair PSU doesn't mean it couldn't have died. I'd test it with another system first, just to be 100% sure.
_________________________
13 Ford Focus SE 2.0L/33,000miles/Pennz Plat PurePlus 0W-20/FRAM Ultra
13 Chevy Traverse 3.6L/14,000mi/QSUD 5W-30/FRAM Ultra
11 Chevy Cruze 1.4T/32k

Top
#3338689 - 04/10/14 11:43 AM Re: Anyone have a spare LGA1366 CPU or mobo? [Re: Nick R]
dparm Offline


Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 12453
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: Nick R
Mmmmm. Just because it's a high end corsair PSU doesn't mean it couldn't have died. I'd test it with another system first, just to be 100% sure.



eVGA said if the PSU was faulty, it would present as different symptoms.

I agree that the PSU could've failed, but I checked the pins with my multimeter and all came back fine.
_________________________
2011.5 BMW M3 saloon ZCP
der stärkste buchstabe der welt
Castrol Edge Professional TWS 10w60 + Mahle OX 254D3

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >