Recent Topics
Anyone remember "in living color" ?
by car51
05/02/16 04:14 PM
schedule / oil recom. for 2015 Honda Accord V6
by Viche
05/02/16 03:38 PM
looking for a good garden hose reel
by bowlofturtle
05/02/16 02:03 PM
New WD Blue 2.5" hard drive beeps???
by Drew99GT
05/02/16 12:39 PM
Grease for Craftsman Snow Thrower
by GGorman04
05/02/16 11:19 AM
Napa syn $2.99 qt.
by pda1122
05/02/16 10:59 AM
Can you mix brands of DOT 4 brake fluid?
by enochian
05/02/16 10:50 AM
rust on stainless steel pool rail and ladder
by raaizin
05/02/16 10:50 AM
Anybody have experience with Lubrication Engineer
by gmh101357
05/02/16 10:43 AM
Oil for a ford 302
by mazdamonky
05/02/16 10:37 AM
93 mercury sable unlock steering wheel
by cptbarkey
05/02/16 10:24 AM
Ford F250-350 Interstate MPG with the 6.2L Gasser
by AirgunSavant
05/02/16 10:12 AM
Newest Members
stydel311, jackadf, rlb4, apenland01, 2ManyMiles
57767 Registered Users
Who's Online
95 registered (901Memphis, 2010Civic, 2oldtommy, 4ever4d, 1foxracing, alarmguy, 11 invisible), 2025 Guests and 339 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
57767 Members
66 Forums
248370 Topics
4061349 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#3338113 - 04/09/14 07:57 PM Considering getting GPS
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5065
Loc: Canada
I will be renting a car in France this summer, and I can see having a GPS could be very handy.

My car rental broker (Auto Europe) has a deal where I can get a "Free" Garmin Nuvi 270 for the duration of my rental (but I have to pay $40 shipping)

Is the Garmin any good?
I would want to program it by an address and also find 'Home'

I have used GPS before (in rentals) but don't know what brand.

I'm also considering just buying one, but I really have no need here, where I live.
Any advice?

Thanks!

Top
#3338115 - 04/09/14 08:01 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 8998
Loc: Illinois
Buy one and you can use Open Map Project maps.

That's what we did with a Garmin two years ago when we spent 3 weeks in Italy.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338117 - 04/09/14 08:03 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 8998
Loc: Illinois
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338120 - 04/09/14 08:04 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 29061
Loc: ME
^ Yup, I used a precompiled open map of canada on my WM special cheapie Garmin.

The cheap ones (used to) tell you to "turn right here" instead of "Turn right here for Main St". You can get by, of course, but it's weird a programming roadblock to encourage upgrades.

Top
#3338127 - 04/09/14 08:13 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
JHZR2 Offline



Registered: 12/14/02
Posts: 37805
Loc: New Jersey
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.

Top
#3338134 - 04/09/14 08:19 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
kb27 Offline


Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 115
Loc: Singapore
Garmin is probably the best supported brand out there.

We have a community here for making maps for Malaysia, Singapore and even Thailand and above
http://www.malfreemaps.com/index.php

If you'll ever visit our region, the above maps are free.
Even local Garmin here is impressed enough to work with the community.
They understand the power of constant updating of maps that the community provides.

I wouldn't hesitate to get a Garmin.

Top
#3338138 - 04/09/14 08:20 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
sciphi Offline


Registered: 03/24/07
Posts: 9581
Loc: Upstate NY
I like my Garmin Nuvi 255. If the 270 is similar, it should be a decent unit.
_________________________
2009 Honda Fit Sport
2012 Chevrolet Cruze Eco

Top
#3338169 - 04/09/14 08:37 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: JHZR2]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5065
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: JHZR2
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.


Excuse me, I know very little of these things.

You buy a GPS then you buy map cards for any areas that the unit does not already cover?
Are the Map cards updateable? if so, What would it cost?

You talk of batteries, Do they not just plug in to the Cigarette lighter? (Am I showing my age?)

I'm thinking if the Cards are over $40 I might just as well rent the free one.

Top
#3338173 - 04/09/14 08:40 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
Quattro Pete Offline


Registered: 10/30/02
Posts: 31283
Loc: Great Lakes
If you only need it for that one single trip, I think $40 is not a bad deal.

Alternatively, if you have a smartphone, you can purchase the Osmand app for about $8 and then you can download any map you want to your phone's memory (so that you don't need an international data plan). But I think having a dedicated navigation device is more practical.
_________________________
'02 530i (PPE 5W-40)
'15 Q5 3.0T (Edge 5W-40)

Top
#3338205 - 04/09/14 09:17 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
901Memphis Online   content


Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 10603
Loc: Northern Kentucky
I think most of them are rechargeable and plug into the accessory port to charge. You don't have to keep it plugged in unless it's dead. I think some people choose to keep then plugged in at all times though.
_________________________
2002 Buick Century 125k - Built 4T65e(Maxlife) - M1 0w40 /Fram Ultra XG 3387A
1998 Nissan Altima 335k - 5MT - M1 HM 5w30/Fram Ultra XG7317+MOS+ATP 205

Top
#3338219 - 04/09/14 09:32 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
Donald Offline


Registered: 03/21/04
Posts: 16658
Loc: Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: expat
I will be renting a car in France this summer, and I can see having a GPS could be very handy.

My car rental broker (Auto Europe) has a deal where I can get a "Free" Garmin Nuvi 270 for the duration of my rental (but I have to pay $40 shipping)

Is the Garmin any good?
I would want to program it by an address and also find 'Home'

I have used GPS before (in rentals) but don't know what brand.

I'm also considering just buying one, but I really have no need here, where I live.
Any advice?

Thanks!



Garmin is a great GPS, around $100 for a decent one at Sams. Many people are just using a smart phone.
_________________________
2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0- 4-sale
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 w/Cummins- 4-sale


Top
#3338229 - 04/09/14 09:55 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5065
Loc: Canada
We don't have a smart phone.

Last year when visiting Denmark, we bought a Map App for the Ipad.
But as it happened, our rental car was equipped with GPS which was a lot easier :-)

Just looking around, there seem to be some real bargains out there (including JHZR2's) I'm just trying to figure out what else (and how much) I need to get, to get a functional GPS working in Europe.

My fall-back would be to get the Free rental (But I pay $40 for shipping) unit.

But it might be nice if I only need pay a little more, and get one I can keep. grin

Top
#3338302 - 04/09/14 11:39 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 8998
Loc: Illinois
Originally Posted By: expat
Originally Posted By: JHZR2
I own a Garmin nüvi 205W. In fact I'm selling one right now over on the for-sale part of this site. A few years ago when we went to Europe last, I just went onto Amazon and bought the memory card with all the European maps. Just stuck in the slot and it worked perfectly all around Europe.

I don't remember how much the map card cost, but I'll bet that it was more than $40. Seems like a good deal although that you'll have a gps that only has maps of Europe on it correct? Not sure if this matters much to you.


Excuse me, I know very little of these things.

You buy a GPS then you buy map cards for any areas that the unit does not already cover?
Are the Map cards updateable? if so, What would it cost?

You talk of batteries, Do they not just plug in to the Cigarette lighter? (Am I showing my age?)

I'm thinking if the Cards are over $40 I might just as well rent the free one.


You can get the maps free from the link I posted. Just make sure the unit you buy takes SD cards. So the only cost is the cost for a 4 or 8 gb SD card you put in the unit.

Most GPS units will plug into the cigarette lighter.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
#3338723 - 04/10/14 12:07 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
expat Offline


Registered: 05/12/09
Posts: 5065
Loc: Canada
What GPS's typically use SD cards?
Looking at JHZR2's I see no reference of it taking a card.

If I download a Free map to the card, will the GPS function in the same way as with the manufacturers map?

What kind of area will the downloaded map cover? (I would want the whole of France with details of most cities)

Top
#3338727 - 04/10/14 12:11 PM Re: Considering getting GPS [Re: expat]
javacontour Offline


Registered: 06/26/03
Posts: 8998
Loc: Illinois
This is what I have.

Yes, it will use both the maps loaded into the unit from the factory and any maps on the microSD card.

Yes, it functions in the same fashion.

I'm sure there are units with more bells and whistles. But I can update the US maps at Garmin as well as load any OSM maps easily downloaded from the web.

There must be dozens of websites that discuss the OSM Open Mapping project and using those maps with a Garmin.
_________________________
network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >